Winter Blues

I have to admit, trying to train for a marathon in the winter with a baby-toddler is a bit of a challenge. You can’t think about whether or not you want to get out there because you might not get the chance tomorrow. My training plan has become a suggestion, because miles have to happen when weather, baby, and family conditions are in sync. Snow, wind, or extreme cold? No stroller. Nap went too long? Too dark to take the baby.

I was very spoiled for almost two months when my hubby was working from home. He was able to watch the video monitor while I crushed 10 mile Tuesdays and hour and a half workouts almost every other day. Rarely had to expose R to the elements from behind the weather shield, but hopefully she hasn’t forgotten how to enjoy a long stroller ride. Besides, getting her AND I suited up, and bundled in the stroller takes longer than running the 4 miles – full of stops and starts anyway for lost toys, mitts, and snacks. This February has been brutal for unlucky weather conditions too, conditions I actually can’t run in. In my pre-baby days, going out when it’s minus WTF outside or the snow is up to your knees didn’t phase me. If I could hack it I would…but I need to be able to take care of the most important thing in my life and I can’t take as many risks. Oh yeah, and the treadmill is broken.

It’s funny, the more I write the more I sound like I’m making excuses. Sure it was easy to make running a priority when I had a nap angel watching her, but if I really want to do a spring marathon, I have to hunker down. Moving forward, each day I will assess the outdoors and plot my miles realistically on a day-to-day basis, based on my weekly goal. Running has to be the priority, that is, after the activities that are R’s priority. Can’t miss that Tuesday Kindermusik class, but the library can wait until a colder, snowier day! 🙂

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 23, 2016, in Running Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

