Marathon #2 – Tomorrow!

Tomorrow is the big day – my second Full Marathon, 26.2 miles! I feel very lucky, my training has gone very well and the weather is going to be pretty terrific, barring any strange plot twists. I have remained mostly injury free, aside from a few aches and pains here and there. It’s funny, now that I am so close with no real issues, my mind is making stuff up – is that knee thing really a “thing” and did I just feel that ankle thing again? Was that a twinge in my back??

I did a very consistent 18 week buildup, with 5 runs a week. My longest run was 20 miles, 15 of those miles being with a stroller (Doc said that those miles counted for 1.25 so by that calculation I got almost 24 done….)! I missed about a week on vacation which included my first 20 miler so for next time I could definitely do more Sunday “stupid long” runs. I think I found my sweet spot for non-marathon related training though, so I am excited to spend the winter doing moderate miles and adding some fun stuff in the mix.

Last marathon I was all about fuelling, but ain’t nobody got time for that with a kid! I think a banana at mile 19 and water at every station is my “plan” lol…I find if I eat a steak dinner with potatoes and healthy veggies the night before a long run I do well enough…maybe this time I’ll get to find this elusive “wall” at mile 20! 😛

I have heard tell it’s good to have a plan A (everything is working for you), B (something surprises you like a heat wave or rough morning), and C (just not on your game at all). 

Plan A – First 2 miles at 10 min pace, walk at water stations for 30 seconds. Finish the first loop at 9 mins pace, assess how I feel for second loop and continue at that pace or 8:55. This could put me in a place to finish under 4 hours, which would be the ultimate accomplishment!

Plan B – First 2 miles at an easy pace, aim for 9:15 pace at least. If I’m not feeling powerful at the halfway mark, continue with 9:15. At mile 22, increase speed each mile to finish strong (ish). This should get me under 4 hours 10 mins, which would still be incredible.

Plan C – First 2 miles easy, aim for 10 minute miles all the way. That would still bring me in at 4 hours 22 mins, or at least beat my first marathon time of 4:31. Still great.

I can’t wait to see what challenges will come up this race. The distance is to be respected so aside from my lack of fuelling strategy I think I am going in prepared enough to beat my last time. I know from the way I felt last time that a) I could have gone faster and left more out there and b) I never want to have to run for more than 4 1/2 hours again. My feet were killing me!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on October 10, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

