Training Starts: Ottawa Half Marathon 2015

11 weeks to go!!

I think I’m going to like running less miles per run, but more days per week with this training schedule. Getting back into running almost everyday has reminded me how important form is, especially going from treadmill to road and back again. Last weekend I had a one-off IT band issue which thankfully resolved itself with a day off and much more concentration on not leaving my tailbone behind. Calves are feeling tight, shin splints are threatening to make an appearance – but I don’t feel like I’m over training, doing only a half hour on most days. I can keep those issues in check while I work around them and get stronger, so they disappear altogether.

This week my goal was to run outside more. The road is where my favorite runs are. On the ‘mill I turn on the TV and tune out – you kinda have to. Outside I can leave everything behind and just exist in the world, one foot in front of the other. Nothing like what the fresh air does for the soul. I was able to get both Saturday and Sunday runs outdoors. I came home from my long run to find both hubby and baby cozy in bed, napping. 🙂 ❤

Goal next week: RACE! I will be running my first race as a Mommy (with a child at the finish line, not in my belly). I have chosen the St Paddy’s 5k. From what I can tell my time will probably be around 30 minutes, especially considering my ultimate goal is to finish every race injury free. Since I won’t be setting any PRs I think I’ll break out all the green gear I have and really Irish it up!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 8, 2015, in Running Journal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

