Week 41: Priorities Defined

nobabyyet

I’m surrounded by the most supportive, amazing people and this baby is going to be the luckiest kid in the world to have so many happy, positive influences in its life. I don’t know how I scored…no one has judged me for the decisions I have made, the priorities I have, or the way we are carrying out the end of the pregnancy. If they have been judging, they’re doing it silently and that is appreciated too. 😛 I’m a very stubborn, emotional (redheaded) warrior woman so hopefully everyone isn’t tiptoeing around me…bah, what do I care, tip toe away! I’m doing my thang!! LOL!

It has been 28C and steamy everyday for the past two weeks, and I have bailed on all my activity. I did one yoga class after my due date, and one 2 mile walk last week sometime…a couple of brief shopping and grocery trips…but to be honest I’m heavy, lazy, and pendulous. I sit on my butt, nap with the cats, and eat delicious food made by everyone else but me, and then they do the dishes too. I watch football games on the couch and go to bed early. Unfortunately the longer this baby cooks, the more I could get used to this!

With my due date long gone, the question of induction has come up. How invasive do I want to get to start labor before the 42 week mark, in order to deliver at the Birth Centre? Acupuncture and a stretch and sweep are two somewhat non-invasive ways of stimulating labor – not necessarily comfortable but they will only work if you’re ready anyway. Is the Birth Centre experience important enough to go as far as to force labor to start medically on an outpatient basis with Cervadil? Well, honestly, no. There ya go, my priority during this unanticipated late term had been defined – allow for natural progression of labor so the baby gets the most out of its time in the womb room. If that means going over 42 weeks and delivering at my second choice location (the hospital), so be it. I will miss the jacuzzi though.

The pregnancy has gone very well, I’ve been low risk and I remain low risk, and at 41w3d with the recent “perfect” ultrasound (that’s what the tech said!!), I can confidently choose to keep this baby growing naturally and wait for labor. I’ve been checked, things are starting to progress, and it just appears that I am doing it later than the average woman. The only “science” that we base due dates on is a woman’s recollection of her last period and a dating ultrasound at 6-7 weeks…a lot happens in 9 (or 10!) months and I’m happy to let the divine mother finish her work.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on August 13, 2014, in Pregnancy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

