Week 29-30: Cheering at the Ottawa Marathon

At 30 weeks pregnant, I accepted a DNS in the half marathon. Funny, I also sorted out my form and essentially fixed my groin pain. Serendipitous timing? Or the universe saying “finally, you made the right choice not to walk 13 miles!”? If I engage my lower abdominals (I still HAVE those??), and keep my tailbone under me using my pelvic floor, I can subtly align my pelvis. IF there was any pain, within about 30 seconds of “walking it off”, the pain goes away. Huzzah!

I had an interesting discussion with a mother of four who suggested creating a bowl with your pelvis and not letting the baby “spill out” over the front. I haven’t been using my lower (or any!) abdominals for fear of being too tight, winding up with the dreaded diastasis recti (when your abdominal muscles split apart down the middle like a zipper). However, you do need abdominal tone to support the weight of the baby. Sure, you’re not supposed to do crunches but you also don’t want to just let it all hang out! Where is the balance? How can you possibly know? The unknowns in pregnancy are so numerous you really have to just learn to cross each bridge when you come to it, and do the best you can with the information you have.

2014-05-25 09.26.57Despite all this, I decided early during week 29 that I have been inactive enough, even walking the half is not smart. I made plans with a bud to cheer at the race instead, and ended up finding some of the old ‘lemons! My bud was registered for the half as well and didn’t participate due to injury – but we still got to have our post-race celebration burger together. That was well deserved, it was pretty exhausting cheering for 3 hours…!

The really exciting news is, now that I have figured out how to walk pain-free, I have started doing short intervals running as well, being very careful to maintain my form – and I’ve been successful! I haven’t felt pain during or after my wogs. Who knows, maybe I can sign up for a 5k in June or July sometime! (Yes I’m addicted to races, get over it!) Either way, my plan to stay active until delivery is happily back in action after a not-so-brief hiatus. Hopefully what I have learned can be carried over to the next pregnancy. I’ll get that half marathon pregnant goal checked off eventually!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 27, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

