Week 28: Getting to the Finish Line Pain-Free

I’ll start with my week, so that the learning journey concludes with the summary…

Monday – 2 mile walk in the morning. I hope I get into a good habit here!

Tuesday – 2 mile walk in the morning with hubby, then a 2.5 mile brisk walk with my PRB (preggo running bud). She was dressed up for a run just in case…I wore jeans…I wanted to make sure I didn’t run yet! I want to work on my speed while walking so that I can complete the half. I can’t imagine being told at the halfway point that I’m too slow…lol…

Wednesday – Yoga for runners with the hubby. I couldn’t believe how great I felt after. My legs, back, and front pelvis all got a good stretch and strengthen, and I can confidently say I am past the injury! I’m not pregnancy free though, things are still growing and changing so I’m still going to take it easy.

Thursday – 2 miles in the early morning with two jogging intervals (so much for taking it easy lol). I didn’t break! The first interval was an awkward wobble but I played through the uncomfortable feeling until my body said walk. Lo and behold, the next interval was more comfortable, and my watch showed an inspiring sub-10 minute pace! I managed the two miles in under 30 minutes. Went for a second walk with a friend at lunch too!

run funnyFriday – The measure of how much is too much is how you feel the next day, and now the front of my pelvis is complaining again. Hobble hobble!! It’s really becoming apparent that if I want to be pain free I can’t run at all…

Saturday – Driving around all day, followed by the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Ceremony at night = no time for a walk! That’s ok, I’m hobbling again from my upper inner thigh pain. Feels like something needs to “pop” back into place, like it did in the grocery store a while ago. Alas, no more sleeping with the kitties on the soft bed downstairs, I need the good support of the master bed!

Sunday – Spent the day in Montreal with Mom! Happy Mother’s Day! No time for a walk, but that’s probably for the best since I’m hobbling. Guess it’s back to the doc for me again this week.

I refuse to be in any kind of unintentional pain. I am sure that there is always a way around the unnecessary aches with diet and appropriate exercise. I (thanks to my ART provider) healed a 10-year chronic back issue last year in a matter of weeks while training to run a full marathon. Most often, if you “play through the (bad) pain” without changing something you are only doing more damage – but if you use the pain as a guide you can effect positive changes which help you increase your physicality.

In the case of pregnancy, what I can do differently to ease pain is a stab in the dark. Change in my body has been so dramatic and swift I barely understand it before it shifts again. I have to give some things up (eg., bending over – to pick up a dropped pen, a dime, food…I didn’t realize how much I drop on the floor over the course of a day). I have to stop attempting to run. Despite the fact I have healed my lower back misalignment and subsequent muscular spasm, it put a long enough dent in my training/routine that running now stresses the  muscles in my inner thighs. It creates pain in my front pelvis, where walking would not. My weight quite obviously shifts side to side while I run bow legged like a cowboy, so my tried and true ChiRunning form is compromised.

All signs point to give up the running altogether this pregnancy, and walking/yoga will do just fine as a workout in the third trimester. I would much rather get 5 pain-free miles of walking in over the course of each day, than take 2-3 days off and book an ART session every other week. I love the road too much, so I’ll be back to fast marathons when I’m ready. It won’t be the first time I’ve built my training up from couch to 26.2.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 12, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

