Week 27: The “Walkers” Category

Switched to the “Walkers” category in the half marathon. I’m ok with it, really! 😀

I went for two ART sessions, and I tell ya that never gets easier! Using breathing techniques really does help, and I swear my doc is purposely going as hard as he can to test my limits. But after the torture, I really do feel like a million bucks. After Wednesday’s session I really felt like we had hit a home run. I could be injury free again very soon! The best part of the session was when I asked if he thought I could still walk the full 13.1 miles despite my recent inactivity…to which he breezily said “of course”. His lack of concern strengthened my resolve to complete the distance, or at least try! Recommended: a good pair of shoes, since my feet will probably be what complain the most after the 3:30-4:00 walk.

there's a chance

I went for a few walks with the hubby the rest of the week. I even did a little jog on Sunday to test the waters – with no repercussions! However, it has been so long since I’ve run and I’ve accumulated so much mass that it’s actually quite awkward and uncomfortable. I’m not ruling out “wogging” intervals for the duration of my pregnancy, no matter how silly I must look to people raking their lawns…but until the end of May I am going to focus primarily on walking everyday and breaking in my new walking shoes for the half!

If the worst disaster that has occurred so far is that I can’t run a half marathon in my third trimester I’m feeling pretty freakin’ blessed with this pregnancy. I have accepted routine morning nausea (which is still hanging on), and a (preventable) back issue is almost resolved. I’m excited for the challenges I hear the third trimester brings! It’s such a short time in the scope of things. Whatever strange symptoms appear (or worsen as it may be…TMI not needed here) will likely be gone in a few month’s time. I’ll soon be plotting my return to marathoning, with a little mini me to come along for the ride!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 7, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

