Week 26: The REAL Finish Line

It’s been great to have goals like the Winterman 5k and the Ottawa Half Marathon to work towards, as I thrive on goals to keep me motivated. Unfortunately the changes in my pelvis have created enough of a disturbance close enough to the race that running the half marathon is no longer an option. After questioning the intention of the universe (thank you hubby for putting up with me), I started messaging friends to see if anyone needs a bib. I have until Wednesday to trade. If I can’t sell it I might consider switching to the walking category, but I have inherently let go of the goal. (I would need an average pace of 18:32 minutes per mile to make the 4 hour cut off…and I don’t know what’s worse, a DNF or missing the maximum time limit!)

Funny Sports Ecard: If you want to go running with me, you'd better be prepared to walk a lot.

I have refocused my next goal to the ACTUAL finish line: Delivery! I will find a way past this temporary misalignment and I will be active again, solely for mine and the baby’s health during the third trimester. Walking for cardio seems to be the most promising form so far, since it isn’t straying too far from what I’m used to. Who knows, maybe I’ll be back to running (or wogging) in a couple weeks, belly and all! Yoga will be key as well, and keeping limber and strong sounds like the perfect way to help get this baby out.

Monday-Thursday – Finished up our trip to Winnipeg and recovered! I called to get on the list for the doc, as I was still hobbling away.

Friday – Continuing on my path to pain elimination, I got in for an ART session. This time we got deep into my hamstring and glutes. (I tell ya, if you want to prepare for labor with breathing through the most intense pain you’ve ever felt, come to my doc!) He said the primary issue in my low back has been resolved, and I’m feeling most of my pain from the secondary issue, lower in my butt but radiating through my hip and low back. I have another ART appointment on Wednesday, and the doc mentioned he might need to do an actual adjustment so I’m not in the clear just yet.

Saturday – I woke up and walked with more ease than usual! Looks promising!

Sunday – Moving much better, so I went for a “wog”. I walked to warm up just fine, but my first 30 second run was a bust! I could not find a form or placement that worked. At 1 mile I headed home, the pain in my right side was too intense. I stretched it out, rolled on the lacrosse ball to adjust my spine, and went back out for a slower walk to the mailbox with hubby. Maybe I was too eager to get back to running, but if I can’t even squeak out a mile I certainly won’t be running 13 of them in four weeks. Reality bites!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you’re still experiencing pain! I’ve embraced the walking. The ability to stay active is a gift, I know a few friends on bed rest! Wishing you continued progress toward being pain free!

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

