Week 22: Listening Better

It’s official – my body is different – behaves different, looks different, and there are ligaments and muscles I never knew existed (aside from the alien growing!). 😀 I am tighter than usual after a long run and it’s becoming very apparent that I need to stretch more. I need to fine tune “listening to my body” during a run and not let my body (or mind!) run ME. I’m too competitive with myself when I schedule miles. If I run based on minutes it’s easier to let pace go – mostly because squeezing 3 miles into my lunch is more challenging (a 10 minute pace!) than running for half an hour. I am going to have to adjust most of my training plan to minutes moving forward.

whispers

In theory, I want to really stick to my training plan so that my body is ok with doing the half marathon. It’s the runner’s eternal struggle – not overdoing it while still pushing hard enough to increase weekly distance – only this time I get to do it while gaining mass at an accelerated rate. In reality, every day is so different, I will just have to keep making adjustments weekly and hope that it all adds up to enough in the end.

Monday – Once again, I turned this cross train into a rest day…lol. Feeling inner thigh tightness after my long run. Most likely due to not stretching!

Tuesday – 3 fabulous miles with my pregnant running buddy – another great way to let go of pace! We both had a care provider appointment that day, so we had lots to talk about. We’re slowing down for sure, but we kept the effort (for me, anyway) around a 15.

Wednesday – Inner thighs did not feel like doing a long run! I even double checked with my ART provider to make sure he works on pregnant women in case this tightness doesn’t go away. I decided on my prenatal yoga DVD instead. This class is full of deep squats, lunges, and gentle hamstring and side stretches. In the first trimester, I thought BAH too easy…now in the second, it was exactly what I needed.

Thursday – Thank God for yoga! My tight inner thighs were doing much better after all those deep squats and lunges. That is, until I finished my “effort 16” 3 mile run – the competitive lunch runner in me NEEDED to get three miles in half an hour. But the pain was back. It’s hard enough to admit you might have pulled something at the best of times, even harder when you’re trying to stay active to keep your baby healthy and strong. I’m going to have to take each day at a time for the next little while. I have a chiro/ART appointment next week. Luckily my doc “definitely” treats pregnant women too! This situation is a big reminder that everything happens for a reason so go with the flow.

Friday – A funny thing happened in the grocery store…something “popped” in my groin and the pain went away. Well, Dr. Google has decided that it was round ligament pain, so I’m probably due for some belly support on my runs now. I’ll check with the doc next week but for now I will take a few days to stretch and rest, and hopefully that “pop” was things getting back in place.

Saturday – Walked 2 miles with a couple little test jogs. On the mend!

Sunday – Woke up to 5cm of snow and a very unenthusiastic disposition. I didn’t even get through a yoga class, opted for a nap instead. I know we’re going through a growth spurt too so what the heck, rest day! Just one more day to heal.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 31, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

