Week 21: The Bloat

Starting to see a pattern. But of course, now that I’ve figured it out it’ll change. However – I believe a growth spurt is happening when I am suddenly beyond exhausted, nauseated, and it feels like my belly has stretched/bloated further than ever. I get winded walking up the stairs and I can’t stand up straight. This time my center of gravity shifted too, and I finally really and truly felt pregnant. I the midst of a growth spurt I wonder if this is how it will be forever…but it seems like I usually get back to something like normal.

I have started re-reading Exercising Through Your Pregnancy and pulling new information here and there. One big take-away I keep coming across is consistency through the 3rd trimester. After the half marathon I will need to keep up my training, with the finish line being delivery! No slacking off – or I could end up with a fatter (still healthy!) baby because of the strong, large placenta I’ve grown in the 2nd trimester…

Monday – The end of the growth spurt that started around Saturday morning. Decided I can take today off from cross training and just let this baby do its thing. I remember scheduling a weekly cross training day during marathon training…I think I went to yoga about 2 out of 16 weeks. I’ll be honest, it isn’t just the pregnancy keeping me from achieving my cross training goal LOL.

Tuesday – Still feeling pretty bloated but went out for 40 minutes anyway, with no expectations. It solved the bloat! I ended up doing my Tempo run, as planned. First mile was a gentle pace, but I was able to kick it into high gear to a solid 16 for effort for two miles! I eased up for the last mile and managed a pretty sweet average of 10 mins per mile.

Wednesday – Decided to get out for at least 2 easy miles. It wasn’t easy (ha) but I trudged through. I felt really heavy and my muscles aren’t used to running two days in a row, but nothing hurt, and it was great to shake it out and get the fresh air.

Thursday – Three hills, woop woop! I haven’t done a hill repeat in a while, thought I would give a few a go. I probably pushed my effort to a 17 at the very top of the hill but for the most part stuck around a 16. Legs felt AWESOMELY dead at the end, climbing the stairs out of the Rideau Canal Locks was almost impossible. Boy did I miss that! Felt great the next day too, no sore muscles and no extra exhaustion so I think we’ll be doing that again!

Friday – Rest day!

Saturday – A solid 3 miles – in fresh wet snow. Felt like I was running on a foam mattress half the time, killer butt workout. Could be shaking off the hills too. Kept the effort at 14.5 and pace dropped pretty dramatically but that’s to be expected. I managed to get out during the one half hour of sunshine we had that day, yay me!

Sunday – I weighed in at 140lbs this morning – so I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been. What was a boob/belly gain has now become butt/thigh action, and the first pair of maternity pants I bought are getting tight! Today’s long run marks the first time I have had make a pit stop to pee. Good thing I chose to do three 2 mile loops around the house, for a total of 6 glorious sunny miles in unseasonal windchill.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 23, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

