Week 20: 10 Weeks til Preggo Half Marathon!

Halfway! Growing is happening quicker now, I’m showing more everyday. Nausea nausea nausea though – this is officially my last mention of it because I have come to terms with the idea that I will probably be one of those women who feel sick their whole pregnancy. As long as I stick to fresh, clean food (no pizza or mcdonalds) I can keep most of it at bay.

I am 10 weeks away from my preggo half. I wonder what will happen out there…it’s going to be very obvious that I am pregnant by then. Although I have done the research and I trust that I’ll know if it’s not safe to continue, I’m still nervous about the onlookers. Will there be anyone unsupportive? Should I make up a little flyer that explains why exercise is GOOD so I can shut them up with knowledge? I want this to be as positive an experience as possible. I don’t need someone yelling from the crowd that I’m being selfish when I’m actually doing this FOR the baby. Ok, for baby AND for me, but if it was only for me I’d be going a LOT faster!

Monday – Cross training day…turned rest day. I’m ok with that!

Tuesday – 2 miles of a nice brisk run on dry pavement. Snow storm’s a-comin….made this one a high 15 for effort since chances are I’ll be snowed out of a run tomorrow.

Wednesday – Yep, snowstorm. March is still technically winter, not sure why we keep trying to convince ourselves otherwise.


wpid-2014-03-15-14.44.04.jpgThursday – 
So grateful for my run today! Jacket still fits but the zipper is getting a workout, can you see a bit of a bump there? Kept effort at 14.5 the whole way. I (re)learned a lot on this one:

  • Attitude is everything. I knew I would be battling the windchill on the way home and I decided not to care. Each step gets me closer to the tree cover and rushing isn’t going to make it easier.
  • Go slower uphill. Now that I’ve realized there is a half mile climb on the way back I adjusted my speed so that I was comfortable the whole way, despite the wind.
  • Don’t go out too fast. My only goal was to accomplish 60 minutes of long slow distance, without any regard for mileage – aka my weekday “half long run”. Turns out when you go slower you savor the moments more. I could have done another 60 minutes without batting an eye – which is exactly what LSD is supposed to be.

I am really looking forward to my weekend long run now, I’m going to put my watch in my pocket and just enjoy the 6 miles I have planned. (OK I do care a little bit – my pace was a little more than 11 mins per mile. Not bad!)

Friday – Felt amazing today after my long slow distance yesterday, so I decided to indulge in my rest day with a Jets game and some chocolate. Oh who am I kidding, I do that on every rest day.

Saturday – 3 miles of pooped! I wasn’t trying to go fast, and my actual pace turned out to be pretty tame, but here’s a perfect example of you don’t know what pregnancy will throw at ya. I was exhausted and out of breath at the end even though I felt like I was my usual 15 the whole way. Could also be a lack of fuel, next time I’ll make sure to eat a little more for breakfast before I head out. I spent most of the run considering going home to pee too! I guess baby is getting bigger…

Sunday – I’m taking today off, even though I was so excited earlier this week. I slept for 12 hours last night. The windchill is -21, and despite the sun it feels wicked cold out there (for March). I just don’t have it in me to do 6 miles. I got a run in every other day this week, including a pretty long run. I could run tomorrow if I desire…this is the kind of flexibility pregnancy requires, and it is practice for when baby comes.

Other pregnant runners – please share your race experience in the comments! I would love to hear how it went for you, and if anyone tried to interfere with yours and baby’s glory!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 16, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

