Week 19: Official Start to “Preggo Half” Training

runner1

I’m having trouble differentiating my runs, I can’t get over the fact that I’m only going to be running 11-12 minute miles on my slow days (and probably slower). Strangely, it’s not even that different from my usual long slow distance using the heart rate monitor – which was also very humbling. I just get so excited that I got out the door and I’m feeling good that I let myself go faster. Could also be that it’s cold out still and I don’t want to risk feeling chilled at all…

My first week using my training schedule was…not a bust, but I definitely switched a little bit around to cater to how I felt. Which is exactly how it should go when you’re pregnant.

Monday – Cross training day turned rest day. Still fighting something other than pregnancy nausea, but I’m totally winning, and I want to keep it that way.

Tuesday – It took some great persuasion, including getting my running group on facebook to vouch for me, but I got my ass out the door! And once you’re suited up for the winter, you may as well go all the way. 40 minutes, supposed to be tempo but ended up more like intervals. Of course I am SO glad I went – some of the best runs happen when you really have to drag yourself out there. Rewarding!

Wednesday – My run bud and I hit up a yoga for runners class! Two preggies in the back row! Great hip work, I really needed something to counter all the linear motion I’ve been doing running lately. I had a half long run scheduled but this was much more fun, and a great change of pace. 😉

Thursday – Rest day. Ok, I’m lying, it wasn’t supposed to be a rest day, I was going to do hills but there’s a Jets game on at 7pm! Also I was hungry. And there’s no hills in my neighbourhood. Plus I already spent all my energy convincing myself to get out on Tuesday so I was tapped out. All valid excuses which I don’t feel guilty for, just this once.

Friday – Officially a rest day. I took full advantage, and went to bed early too.

Saturday – 2 miles easy and 1 mile walking. I forgot about this idea! I didn’t want to do the full 3 miles I had scheduled, I took an extra rest day this week and I didn’t want to tucker myself out for my long run Sunday. I also didn’t want to go home after 2, it was such a lovely twilight run, so walking the last mile was my compromise.

Sunday – What a great 5 miles! Longest distance since we got pregnant, down my favorite gravel road. Went a little faster than I should have, I really felt it on the gentle incline on the return trip (my mini-heartbreak hill). And the wind! No corn, trees, or houses to keep it from hitting me pretty hard! I felt fine the next day though, and aside from taking a quick catnap afterward I didn’t feel overly exhausted from it all. I think 5 miles might be where my bladder is going to max out during this pregnancy LOL! We’ll see.

I miss long distances!! And not just doing circles around the block, I’m talking long country roads that stretch as far as the eye can see…

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 10, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for posting this! I’ve missed long distances too, and it’s nice to see other pregnant runners cutting back, slowing down some, and still logging those miles! Great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

