Week 18: Growth Spurt

I have officially changed my position on “no training plan”. It’s not enough to say I’m going to run so many miles on my long run each week, I want to make sure I’m getting some differentiation in too so that I get both slow and fast twitch muscles going. I know my speed is going to change over the next 13 weeks, so effort will be my gauge. Feedback on this training plan from other mother runners is appreciated!

pregnanthalf

I read a hilarious Scary Mommy blog post called “You Are Going To Be Fat”, which made me laugh – especially #4!! I have no idea what is going to happen as this baby takes over, I just have good intentions…so we’ll see!

Monday – Major exhaustion. For the first time my nausea actually woke me up at 2am – it was bad enough that I thought it was food poisoning from the slow cooker chicken we ate. I don’t know what kind of growth spurt this kid is going through, but it took me down hard. All day I felt like week 10 again, and when I got home I went straight to bed at 8pm.

Tuesday – Feeling better today, so I did an easy 2 mile run when I got home from work. Winter has come back and we’re getting windchill warnings again. Nothing baby and I can’t handle. The best part was getting out the door before the dusk had left the sky! (Only 11 days until the time change!!) I can’t seem to slow myself down though, it’s just too much fun to run on dry bare pavement again. Both miles were around the 10 min mark, and my effort was at a high 15.

Wednesday – Another rest day – secretly glad my run bud had to cancel due to illness. I was still going to do a long(er) run of about an hour, but decided against it when I got home. I felt pretty worn out, and hubby had been feeling borderline under the weather. I am not taking any chances getting sick, so I wrapped up in some comfy pjs and opted for an extra episode of House of Cards.

Thursday – Rough 2 miles! I feel large – this baby has grown a lot this week and my running tights no longer fit comfortably. I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been, so it’s all new territory from here. I think I was feeling a little bloated from lunch too…

Friday – I was in rough shape from the week when I got home! Thankfully Fridays are scheduled to be my rest days moving forward…so I went to bed at 8pm (and slept for 11 hours!). I have come to the conclusion that there is no escaping nausea in some form.

Saturday – Never judge a run by the first mile, otherwise I would have headed straight home. When I finally got into the groove I coasted through the rest of my 3 mile run with a 15 for effort. Running in tire tracks through 4cm of fluffy white stuff was a little challenging, and I did end up with a couple of snowy booters.

In other news, I felt the baby moving!! I’m sure of it this time! It was after an awesome afternoon Jets game nap. It feels like a kitten doing the cat dance from the inside…lol!

Sunday – Frigid 2 miles, it was one of those windy, cold, late winter runs that makes you appreciate what is coming. I pushed the pace a little and got up to a 16 for effort –  mostly to keep warm and to get home quicker lol. I was feeling a lot of tightness on the right side of my pelvis, right under my appendix scar. I’m thinking the scar tissue under there is going to have a rough time stretching over the next 5 months! Thankfully, however, I think I have beaten whatever illness was knocking at my door…now I just have to keep avoiding sugar and getting lots of sleep.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 3, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

