5 Things I Don’t Get About Pregnancy So Far

Why does water taste so terrible? I used to be a 4L-of-water-a-day diva and I loved the feeling of chugging a pint at a time. Now I have to drink lime infused sparkling water (insert jazz hands here), or add water to my soups, or remember to make teas, or force it down – and I can barely get half my usual in.

And when the hell are you supposed to drink all this recommended water? They say half an hour before a meal is the right time to drink water, and not for an hour after. I don’t have a “between meals” anymore, I graze all the time to keep the nausea at bay.

Where is all that food going anyway? Especially considering my plumbing doesn’t work on a daily basis anymore! On my best days: breakfast, second breakfast, dessert after breakfast, lunch, second lunch, pre-car snack, pre dinner, dinner, dessert, and bedtime snack. Granted sometimes I do know what happens to the food I eat, it sticks in my esophagus and burns, usually when I’m trying to fall asleep after bedtime snack.

As for the nausea…I read in many places that many women start to feel relief after the 12th week. Key words I glazed over – start to. It would appear that there’s no end to not feeling great, just different degrees of “pretty good”. I guess I spoiled myself before when I always felt good, I was “too” healthy.

And why oh WHY must I eat sugar all the time? Have hormones seriously clouded my perception of what’s healthy to such an extent that I make medical excuses for the need for sugar? It’s a “fuel to keep the baby growing” – hey, simple carbs pass through the placenta easier, creating more usable energy, right??? Right???

cake

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 27, 2014, in Pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

