Week 17: Countdown to March/Spring

Second last week of February. I remember in early December thinking forward to this time of the new year, believing that the nausea would be long gone, the weather would be warmer, and the dark night of the soul that is morning sickness in the dead of winter would be a distant memory. For the most part, that’s true. I can eat (and prepare) any food again (mostly sugary treats), I have energy and motivation, and starting to show is a lot of fun. So is the game of “Was That The Baby or Gas?”! But the nausea still clings to me like a bad hangover…I eat to try to squash it and then I feel too bloated and full, and the cycle continues. Thank God for running, one of few (temporary) cures for this nausea.

Monday – Beautiful, sunny 2 mile walk to shake off the race from Sunday. I definitely went harder than I have been training, and that always leads to sore muscles the next day. But somehow I can’t resist crossing the finish line pushing my hardest!

Tuesday – Feeling like the baby is growing…my body is tired but I needed to get the blood moving so I had to convince myself to go for a 2 miler at lunchtime. I knew I wouldn’t have time at night – I’m committed to making a coconut cream pie plus we started watching House of Cards and I’m addicted. I’m glad I did, the subtle nausea was curbed! But the slushy snow slowed me down and shredded my calves. Not my favorite run of all time but I’m sure glad I got out there for 24 minutes! I’m not sure if it was the lack of a really tight tech fleece layer supporting me, but I definitely felt heaviness in my tummy as I ran. Might need to start shopping for that support band.

Wednesday – Rest day – went to bed at 8pm. I think the baby is going through a growth spurt. I notice it starts with increased nausea, then I get really hungry, then I get itchy and crampy, and then I get so tired I can barely keep my eyes open. The process takes about 48 hours.

Thursday – I finally got a chance to run on the canal! Good thing too, since it’s closing tomorrow with the  warm temperature and rain coming. My preggo run bud and I did almost 4.5 miles. We started on the bike path but that quickly turned into a slushy swimming pool followed by a booter or two, so we moved to the ice on the canal. Great traction, actually, with the slight dusting of snow. We stayed around a 15 for effort – for me at least! It’s great to have someone to push the pace with a little bit. Still getting used to the Borg Scale, leaving the heart rate monitor at home. I know I’ve only had it for 6 months but I feel lost without it!

Friday – Another rest day. Yesterday was a bit tough and I want to keep the balance.

Saturday –  Opted for a yin yoga class instead of a run, despite the perfect sunny weather. Boy am I glad I did – the focus was on the hips, and after all the sitting and running I’ve been doing they were pretty happy to have the attention. I think I felt the baby move…I did sphinx pose very carefully, and as we pushed back off our bellies I felt a ripple cross my lower abdomen. Probably the child saying “yo, don’t lie on your stomach you idiot”! Ok, ok I get it!

2014-02-23 13.11.09Sunday – LOL Belly shot…I can still see my feet! I think that yoga class yesterday loosened up my hips so much that it affected my speed! That, along with a solid run on Wednesday, only one pair of pants, dry flat pavement, and an ideal temperature with the wind at my back made for a delicious 3 miles at race pace. This run was an example of the reward you get for all those slushy, cold, ultra-layered runs you have to get through in January. I kept effort at a 16, my breathing was a comfortable 2 and 2 for the most part, and I kept all my miles under 10 minutes. Spring might not be in the air yet but it’s around the corner!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 23, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

