Week 16: Baby’s First Race

The Winterman was this weekend!

2014-02-15 18.22.12

After last Sunday’s 2 mile walk, I woke up Monday morning with tight shins. That’s a bad sign – I’ve been doing far too much sitting and running and not enough walking. My “rest” days henceforth need to become walk/yoga days – the fresh air and just moving about is what I need. The best way for that to happen is at lunch during work. No gear change required, it’s warm enough around the lunch hour, and it breaks up the day without taking out time to “rest” at night.

Monday – 4 miles with my new preggo run bud! We are going to make it a weekly event. Our pace was slower, which was planned. We had so much to talk about anyway! Running solo, I never get to make sure I’m running at a “pace where I can hold a conversation” (that would look pretty sketchy…). I do have to watch my form though, I tend to get lazy when there’s good conversation!

Tuesday – A kundalini class for the books! It has been a long time since I have left a yoga class with an involuntary smile beaming from my face. I was on cloud 9! So grateful for the opportunity, and for the 11 minute prosperity meditation. Sat nam!

Wednesday – I had an hour downtown before hubby was finished work, so I headed around the canal for a nice change. (Oh, how I wished I had brought money for the beaver tails stand at the halfway point!) No mileage plan, just an approximate time of 45 minutes. I even tried to run on the canal – that was a bust, too slippery. On a regular day I would still go for it, but not with baby in tow!

Thursday – Another yoga class, was hoping for Kundalini but it was subbed out for “regular” prenatal. Even when kundalini is not kundalini it’s what I need! Great work on my arms and hips, that’s for sure.

Friday – Snow day! 5cm messed up the roads and cancelled my plans to run after work. If the plows had been by, I would have gone out, but I’m not risking a twisted ankle (or worse) right before a race.

Saturday – 2 easy miles in the morning followed by a 1 mile walk. I didn’t want to overdo it, plus I am trying to add more walking to my week. I figure tossing a mile or two at the end of a run is a great way to do it.

Sunday – RACE DAY! Weather was perfectly cold and sunny! Baby and I had a great race, even without my Garmin…forgot it at home! That’s ok though – I couldn’t check my pace at all so I really had to go by feel, and it left time for me to focus on having fun. And fun it was! The wind was pretty strong but so was the sun, and I probably should have worn my sunglasses. I forget how many hills are around the War Museum, it was hard to stay around an effort of 16. I love running fast downhill – I’m that annoying runner passing you on the way down and clogging up the uphills! I’m not happy with my time even though I said I wouldn’t care…but I’ll get used to it. I guarantee I’ll get back where I was and crush a few crazy time goals after baby!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 16, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal, Yoga Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

