Week 15: Bumpy!

15 weeks

Bump is starting to show! (I may have been a little bloated in this pic too lol…) My run gear is getting tight. I now officially look chunky from the side even with all the lulu waistbands holding everything together! It better start getting warm or I’m going to have to improvise…

I do want to differentiate my runs now that I feel like I’ve gotten back into it. I am starting to think having a bit of a training plan will help me get to the half marathon. Perhaps just a long run goal for the week, either a time goal or mileage depending how I feel. I want it to feel great and I want to run as far as I can. I’ll be 30 weeks then, and fatter and heavier than I’ve ever been in my life (hopefully) so any goal other than to enjoy it is ludicrous, but being prepared for the distance is also necessary. Gotta say, half marathons present a fantastic challenge for my type A personality, but pregnancy takes it to a whole new level!

Monday: Rest day. Sunday’s run was really great, and I’m staying late in the city tomorrow so I will take advantage of the chance to run around parliament hill again.

Tuesday: Longest run since I got pregnant! 4 sweet miles across the bridges into Gatineau. I really focused on staying around a 14-15, this was my LSD for the week. My pace was all over the place, mostly because of the hills and the lack of proper plowing across the river.

Wednesday: Rest day. I’m liking this day on, day off routine. Tomorrow is another late work day for hubby so I am going to bring both run and yoga gear – maybe I can get a prenatal kundalini class in!

Thursday: No yoga, his late meeting was cancelled, which I don’t mind so much – we can catch the whole Jets game now. 😀 I’m kind of glad I had another day to rest my calves, better give em a roll soon too.

Friday: Ok, this one took some mental preparation. I knew I had to go, it has been two days since I did anything so 3 miles have to happen. I spent the day debating weather, nausea, wind, bloat, etc…and then I found the motivation I needed. A new pregnant running bud! Turns out she’s looking for other pregnant women to run with – and we got to chatting, and found out we’re both due the SAME DAY. Our training pace is almost identical, and we crossed the finish line within seconds of each other without even knowing it at the 2013 Army Run! We’re both signed up for the Ottawa Half Marathon and intend to get through it. We have a run date Monday – so I definitely felt motivated to get out in the cold when I got home, can’t let her down by being out of practice!

Saturday: 2 miles, but really easy pace. I wasn’t feeling great but I knew I needed the fresh air. My legs were heavier than usual so I decided to keep it short and do some arms when I got home – I realized it’s been almost four months since I did any weights! I need to get these little weaklings back on track, holding a baby all day takes more than patience.

Sunday: Did a great 2 mile walk around the block with the hub. The wind was a bit chilly so we had a pretty good pace going. Feels kinda good to have a little stiffness in the arms and shoulders too.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 10, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

