Week 14: Second Trimester Begins

Really? Week 14 already? Holy crap this pregnancy is 1/3 over…

This week I am officially in my second trimester. My aversions are over (except for pork), I can cook meat from raw again, and I’m actually preparing some of my own meals! I haven’t been able to fully shake the nausea though. I’ve started gaining weight despite getting back into running regularly, and I’m showing…just a little bit!

The Winterman 5k is coming up in two weeks! I’m not setting any records, of course, and I’ll be lucky if I make it in under 30 minutes. No time goal though! I’m just out there to have fun and run on a nice clear street with other crazy winter goal-crushing folk!

Monday – 3-mile run after work. Decided the weather was co-operating a little better than last week, so running in the dark isn’t as painful. I spent most of the day feeling bloated and stuffed, and the run actually made that better! I kept my level of intensity around a high 15 and pushed to a 16 for a fartlek or two for fun, since I was feeling really good. Pace was, surprisingly, less than 12 minutes per mile! Not that it matters…

Tuesday – Rest day. I had a pretty good, tough (relatively) run yesterday, so I gave myself tonight off. There’s a Jets game, anyway! I passed out halfway through the second so I’m pretty sure I needed the down time.

Wednesday – Another fantastic 3 miles. The couch was calling but I ignored it and just started suiting up…and I’m extremely glad I did. Pace was a bit slower, probably due to the wind gusts up to 50km/h. But I’m not worried about pace! I felt like I was around a 15 most of the way. I am starting to notice my lululemon tech fleece tights are feeling pretty tight around the waist…I hope they make it to the end of the cold season!

Thursday – Rest day. I’m going to make sure that I’m conscious of the activity-rest cycling, for every hour of activity I’m going to make sure I get an hour of rest. Or in my case, if I have a great run that’s a 15 or more, I’ll try to get an early bedtime the next day.

Also, I NEED to start drinking more water. My four litres a day pre-pregnancy dropped to about 2.5 and I haven’t been able to consistently get back on the train. I never didn’t like water but now it’s just not…tasty.

Friday – Boy am I ever glad I keep waiting until I get home from work to do my runs! I got another fantastic, refreshing 3 miles in, around a 14-15 the whole way. Streets are clear but won’t be for long – 5-10cm predicted for tomorrow.

Saturday – Rest day, snow day. Saw one trooper out there running, and was jealous for about 2 seconds!

Sunday – I had trouble deciding whether to do a run or yoga today, but the bright sun and mild temperature after the 1pm hockey game (Go Jets!!) made up my mind for me! 3 miles, kept my Borg rating at a 15, and was surprised when my pace was much quicker than I have been used to. I think it’s just getting back into running after my morning sickness vacation. 😛

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 3, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have a friend who was nauseous for her entire pregnancy, hopefully this isn’t going to be your case!

    sounds like you’re doing awesome 🙂

    • Thanks Kerry! I seem to hear more women say they were sick up to week 20 or even further than those who feel better at week 12 like all the books SAY you will…! Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

