Week 13: The Honeymoon…?

This week is the start of the “honeymoon” period! Well, it has come in like a lion, still feeling pretty nauseated a lot of the time. That’s ok….one day at a time now!

Unfortunately the week starts off, temperature wise, just as grumpy! The mercury is dipping below -26 overnight with crazy windchills…I will have to dig deep to get out there and convince myself that it’s for the greater good – “our” health and mental state! Ahhh to have a treadmill. When I’m not percolating a child, I’m fine with braving the elements. Now, I prefer to feel as cozy and comfortable as possible, as if to transmit my comfort to the baby…maybe, just maybe, this one doesn’t mind heading out for a bitter winter run and coming home with icicles on its umbilical cord, owning winter! HA…don’t worry people, I won’t be (as) crazy as usual….

Monday, Jan 20 –  …except for today! -35 windchill in the dark…BRRR! Now, I’m a tough cookie, but I don’t know how tough the little raspberry inside me is, so I might not brave it next time. I did a good 5 minute “warmup” walk, then started a slow run to get the blood pumping because MAN it was cold. I stopped to walk, checked my heart rate, and it was up above 200! What?! I walked it down to 160 but even that took some time, and I was getting really chilly so I just started running. I tried instead to base my effort on the BORG scale…and when I stopped to walk again heart rate was a whopping 235! Ok, scaling it back a bit, walk it off, run slower. At least my toes were starting to warm up, but not enough to do any more than 2 miles. I’m definitely going to ask the midwife about this.

Tuesday – Rest day. I decided to run during the dead of winter in the daylight hours only, when it’s a balmy -19! 😛 Except I didn’t bring running shoes to work today, so we’ll make a date for Wednesday.

Wednesday – I found a book called Exercising Through Your Pregnancy by Dr. James Clapp, and on page TWO it confirms that a previously unrecognized sign of a healthy pregnancy is a dramatic hike in heart rate. He actually uses the term “sky-high” – both at rest and during exercise. NYC Running Mama also answered my question from Monday: your pregnancy hormones dilate your blood vessels to allow for more blood volume, but your body won’t have increased the actual volume until near the end of the 2nd trimester.  The heart has to pump much harder and more frequently to get the lower blood volume where it needs to go. This is also why women in late first and early second trimesters frequently feel dizzy or faint. However, your lungs are also processing more air as well, according to the Mayo Clinic, so I’m going to keep my breathing deep during my runs, hoping this will also help with the high heart rate too.

So how did my run go you ask? My heart rate started “sky-high” at 200 with a brisk walk. LOL. I made it a mostly walking 2 miles, with the odd little sprint, taking me to 250bpm. I guess that’s just the way it is – but we’ll let the midwife confirm that. I went at 3pm when the sun was bright and the temperature reached its daytime high of -19. I feel much happier about running in the winter again!

Thursday – Had my physical with the midwife today. She didn’t seem concerned about my heart rate while running, just told me to watch that I don’t feel like I’m overdoing it, but that it sounds like I’m pretty aware. Sounds like a BORG scale vote to me. Best thing to hear from your healthcare provider is “you are the picture of perfect health”. Woohoo!! Also – we heard the heart beat!

I actually got to a yoga class! If you had said to me two weeks ago that I would make it all the way through a class without hurling or eating peanut butter on crackers I would have laughed. I do think I stirred up something though, the nausea came back for a bit…

Friday – …and hasn’t let up much today. I took a rest day, but did get out for some fresh air at lunch with my buddy T-bone.

Saturday – 3-miler in the snow, a balmy -7 Celsius. Feeling a lot more confident about running now, after reading Exercising Through Your Pregnancy. I decided to keep monitoring my heart rate for interest’s sake but using the BORG scale I didn’t go above a 15. My heart rate started around 200, stayed there for the first mile, then started to slowly creep DOWN to 165, where it hovered for the rest of my run. That’s right, I RAN THE WHOLE WAY! Ok, two quick walk breaks in the 3rd mile just cause. I also paid a little attention to my pace – 13 minute miles. I guess that’s how she rolls now!

Sunday – Opted out of a run in favor of a new prenatal yoga DVD I found. Shiva Rea offers three options (for each of the trimesters), with modifications for late pregnancy. I could get behind this for sure! (Especially since it doesn’t require 4 pairs of pants, leg warmers, 3 shirts, mitts, hat, face mask, and possibly goggles on a particularly snowy day!)

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on January 20, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

