Week 12: I’m Back Baby (sort of)!

This is the first week I have felt almost…almost like myself again. All through weeks 6-10 I couldn’t stand the thought of anything I used to enjoy, which meant that I was eating out a lot and experimenting with new foods. Sounds fun, but not when you don’t even want to look at food. Now I am eating and enjoying most normal foods, but I don’t want to prepare em just yet. Thank the Lord for my amazing husband who cooks and cleans like a boss.

I probably got an average of 3-5 miles in per week over the first trimester. Sadly I know I would have felt better if I could have just gone for a walk everyday but the weather made it unsafe, and I don’t have a treadmill. (For next pregnancy, if it’s in the winter, this is a MUST!) Now that the roads are cleared and I feel much better, I will get out there, and I will share my weekly experience. I’m excited to have no training plan, this will be a challenge and a gift – on days pregnancy gets me down I will feel no guilt about taking a rest day. I’ll try to get one faster run in per week, and walk whenever I need to. I’ll be wearing a heart monitor to keep tabs too.

Monday – 2 miler and I’m back baby! Walk/ran equal amounts, pace was…I don’t know, I wasn’t watching! Heart rate was good, spiked a couple times but learning how to find a happy medium is tricky when my heart rate is unpredictable day to day. Definitely a higher resting rate. I didn’t feel overworked and nothing was sore the next day so this was a good “get back into it” run!

Tuesday – Rest day. Had a great first half of the day without much nausea and planned to do 3 miles when I got home, but somewhere around 3pm my hormones surged and I could barely climb the stairs after work. Ended up going to bed right after dinner, no regrets!

Wednesday – Another rest day. Busy after work, and nausea had really gotten me down so I gave into the couch before, and after, dinner.

Thursday – I started out with a slow pace, running, and watched as my heart rate skyrocked to a whopping 215 beats per minute. WHOA!! I guess every run I’ve had so far has started with a good five minute walk. I walked and ran intermittently until I found a good pace that kept me around my goal heart rate, but I will definitely have to start out with a warm up while I do this pregnancy thing!

My best hours are during the morning this week. With that in mind, I tried to curb my afternoon nausea wave by heading out at 3pm, hoping that getting the blood pumping would help. It seemed to work! I had more energy, and I even did the dishes after dinner – which hubby dutifully cooked after HIS long day at work. ❤

Friday – Much better today with my target heart rate. A good five minute walk at the start and a couple patient slow downs is all I need. Got 2 lovely miles in on lunch, and I felt great at home later that night. Even vacuumed the basement! It could be the running, the healthier eating, the water intake increase…but something is clicking and I am feeling good more often. Could also be week 12 starts today…!

Saturday – Walk day! Got a really good brisk 3 mile walk in today. Felt really good to soak in the fresh air…and the cuffs of my pants sure got soaked too! Last time I wear “whatever” to do a workout – take a few seconds to change your pants, man. I didn’t bother with my HRM either, I just needed the fresh air.

Sunday – Rest day…by late last night nausea had kicked in pretty bad, and was unrelenting all day. Today I alternated between naps and sobbing feeling sorry for myself. I literally lived a cat’s life, sleeping in several different interesting beds. Hey, everyone HOPES their morning sickness goes away on exactly week 12.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on January 15, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

