Goals Change with Good News!

Wow it has been a LOOONG time since I wrote, mostly because I’ve been harboring a secret…I’m pregnant!!! After a year and a half, the fertility journey has finally found me growing a little raspberry-shaped blob into a real human. Fantastic! My new set of goals for 2014:

  1. Deliver a healthy happy baby after a healthy, active pregnancy!

Fantastic…except for the morning sickness. It came on around 6 weeks and didn’t let up until 11 weeks, when I had a few days of the “light at the end of the tunnel”. During those 6 weeks I did nothing but nap and sulk. I tried going for walks but old man winter had other plans – I have never seen so many snowstorms that turned into ice rain that turned into more snow, which left the roads around my house completely unwalkable. Besides, I could barely get off the couch let alone suit up in layers of winter gear.

Now that I’m feeling better, I do intend to run, (and/or walk, and do yoga) throughout my pregnancy. I have found the definitive book on exercise and the effect on pregnancy, Exercising Through Your Pregnancy by Dr. Clapp. I encourage anyone who has an opinion on exercising while pregnant to read this. I have also found so many wonderful blogs of other women who continued to run while pregnant: NYC Running Mama, Another Texas Family, and Uber Mother Runner being my favorites so far. Google “Running While Pregnant” and there’s a world of blogs out there! I hope to add to the many personal accounts of running and staying active throughout pregnancy.

I believe that this is the best thing for me and the baby – studies show that women who run have babies with stronger cardiovascular systems, and the nutrients pass more efficiently through the placenta.Working out at moderate intensity, 3x a week for 2o mins during the 2nd trimester actually builds a larger placenta with more blood vessels, easing the transfer of nutrients and creates a sort of “buffer” in case there are complications with labor and delivery. Temperature regulation, oxygen transfer, fetal heart rate and distress are among the main “concerns” – but studies show everything is improved with consistent exercise, not restricted. 

I had a goal to run one race every month this year, starting in February, but things change! I signed up for the Winterman 5k, and I’ll run/walk it with the goal of HAVING FUN. I’m also registered in the 40th annual Ottawa Race Weekend Half Marathon. That one I’ll be keeping in contact with my midwife about, and we’ll see how I feel that day. I have no qualms about not starting, or starting and not finishing, as this is not a time to “see how far I can push myself”…I know I can finish, but it’s not just me finishing this time! I’m running for two! I am excited to start this journey, with the goal “race” being a healthy delivery. I vow to listen to my body as well as my baby, do my kegels, and take a rest day when warranted. I won’t create a training schedule, I know I won’t stick to it. I won’t set time goals, they’re unnecessary now. I think I’m a pretty happy person who enjoys life, but my goal is to enjoy every moment even more.

Now that the morning sickness is over, that is…LOL.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on January 15, 2014, in Books, Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

