Goals for Base Training

Ever since my lulu job I realized that I LOVE goal setting, especially for fitness. I love the journey that ensues, and finding the surprise milestones along the way. That being said I’m feeling a little goal-deprived right now. All of my running training plans so far have had a goal race, with very specific times and expectations, albeit flexible ones. Over next four months of “base training” (ie no racing), I don’t have that option. Even the 5km Winterman race in February isn’t a “goal” so to speak – it’s intended to be the baseline for the rest of the year, almost like a final exam to see what position all the base training I’m doing puts me in. The goal of that race is solely to leave it all out there without injury…not like my most recent 10k!

  1. Increase my EZ pace while keeping my heart rate at 65%. Now, I have no idea to what extent this is possible, but I do know where I’m starting at. Heart Rate average 140, pace currently 10-12 minutes per mile depending on temperature, caffeine intake, time of day, etc. So, arbitrarily, let’s get that down to 9:30 per mile on a good day. This goal can be flexible if required – my time goals before I start training are usually pretty off! I have a feeling in the end I’ll have reaped all the benefits of slower effort in other ways regardless.
  2. Try a new or different winter sport. Skating on the canal anyone? 🙂 Snowshoeing that one time was fun in 2010, or maybe I should strap on some cross country skis and give that trail in Embrun a try! (What, use GEAR to exercise, other than running shoes and a moisture wicking shirt?)
  3. Cross train consistently. Build a foundation for the half marathon in the spring that I can really be proud of. Yoga twice a week, and something every weekday. In order for this to be a SMART goal I need to find a way to measure it at the end. This requires a whole sub-class of goals:
    • Hold a plank for 5 minutes
    • Do 5 one armed push ups in a row
    • Do 5 sets of Pilates 100s in a row
    • See where the wall meets the floor in back bends
    • Do 75 doggie kicks per side at over 90 degrees

Onwards and upwards! Can’t wait to check in on these in February!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on November 6, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

