Five Fun Days of Strength

Since it has become apparent that devoting a full hour once or twice a week to lifting weights and toning up is impossible for me (I’d rather be drinking wine and eating chocolate), I decided to split it up into more manageable daily chunks (ie the half hour before I drink wine and eat chocolate). I added a name to each day to help me remember, in addition to making it fun! The goal is to wake up each day with the muscles from the previous day burning. I’ve listed below my favorite exercises to do, if you want clarification on any of them let me know in the comments…these definitely aren’t technical terms.

Guns-Day Mondays

  • Sun Salutations with yoga pushups,
  • Bicep and tricep curls,
  • Bench press with free weights,
  • Tricep pushups on a chair,
  • Crow pose/hand stands

Ab-Use Day Tuesdays

  • Boat pose (with twist),
  • Pilates 100s,
  • Yoga bicycle,
  • Any other ab torturing exercises that catch my fancy

Bends-Day Wednesdays

  • Cobra,
  • Camel pose,
  • Life nerve stretch (forward bend holding the big toes),
  • Floor bow,
  • Bridge/Wheel,
  • Child’s pose

Plank-Craze Thursdays

  • Full arm planks for as long as I can hold it,
  • Elbow planks rotating right and left,
  • Rocking plank on elbows (front and back),
  • Side full plank with hip lifting

Thigh-Raise Fridays

  • Clam shells,
  • Hip raises (one foot off a stair lift pelvis up and down),
  • Leg lifts lying on my side (for abductors/IT band),
  • Doggie kicks and lifts

I’m skinny, like, stereotype marathoner “skin and bones” skinny – I’d love to put on a little meat in the form of toned arms, a six pack, and shapely thighs. Perk up my butt a bit too, why not? 🙂 I’ve never been a gym girl (although I’ve tried). I do have a set of free weights and more recently purchased a weight bench with a bench press, but I haven’t found a way to get inspired to use it. I love to run. I love yoga. I usually go through phases where I prefer one over the other, but for some reason I can’t seem to ever get into a phase where I want to add a real cross training session once a week. Hopefully this helps me remember!

If anyone gives it a try, or can think of a better name for a day, leave a comment below!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on October 23, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m the opposite of skinny, got about 40 pounds to lose, and I’m also working on getting strength training in more often. Everything I’ve read lately is in praise of strength training to help you lose weight (muscle burns more fat) and to keep from getting injured when running. I figure it’s worth a shot. 🙂 I tried a Body Strength class at my gym today (like Les Mills Body Pump) and I’m already feeling the effects. I’m gonna be sore tomorrow! Love it. I’ll probably be doing some yoga tomorrow. Best relief for sore muscles.

    • D.O.M.S. and yoga work nicely! An epsom salt bath might be nice too! 😉 It’s hard to talk about gaining weight since it seems everyone else wants to lose, but strength training is great for everyone, all around.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

