T-2 Weeks: The Taper Begins

After last week’s exhilarating 66 km, this was a bit of a low-energy dig-deep kinda week. I even thought to myself once, maybe I don’t really want to do the marathon…I know it’s the ebb and flow, passion can’t fire up every single week for every run, but I’m pooped. I’ve eaten too much pizza lately too…

Monday

Rest day. 

Tuesday

8km – GREAT little speed/interval session. I am trying to maintain a faster pace now as my “easy” pace, and I threw in about three pushes. Too bad the runkeeper app doesn’t keep up with me any more, so I have no idea how fast or how far those sessions were. I am pleased with how 33km has taught my body an even newer and improved form from the last time I “updated” my form. This time it has to do with where my feet land relative to my q-angle, and it felt like I had always known it heading into this run.

Wednesday

ART session…hips are doing good, calves got a workout. I think I almost died, that final twist he does to release something is absolutely killer. Whatever he did, my tendons don’t click when I walk down the stairs any more, which is probably a very good thing!

Thursday

I would call this 6.5km a “recovery run” after the calf destruction yesterday. It was also hot, sunny, and muggy. I picked a route that went around a dairy farm…SUPER stinky lol. My usual pace felt hard, and my body felt 15 lbs heavier than normal.

Friday

R&R!

Saturday

Early morning 8km. Left the watch at home again, going for an easy and enjoyable pace. Still feeling the recovery of my calves from the ART I think, it was a bit more work to get through the run than usual.

Sunday

18km and a little heat exhaustion to boot. It was 50/50 – I felt incredibly strong, and am pleased with how my legs felt over the run. But I also kept stepping on rocks the same bruised part of my left foot! I thought my winter run shoes were thicker than that! I will definitely be treating myself to trail shoes after this…the barefoot feel sucks on the gravel shoulder. The WIND was a factor too, on the way back. It’s really hard to tell how you feel with your pace when the wind is blasting you off your feet.

Goal for next week: Heal the back from the gardening overuse injury 😦 and taper while keeping intensity!Also…continue to eat well, don’t lose diligence now that I’m not running as much!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

