T-3 Weeks: Big Miles

This is the peak of my training with the highest mileage of the plan. I am blessed this week to have a healthy, injury-free body to work as hard as possible. My speedwork was unenjoyably awesome, my Tempo run had my face flushed and splotchy after a great push at the end. My long run was a lesson in trusting my training, and my easy run the day after taught me that I can push myself much farther than I thought. These were BIG miles for me, a HUGE confidence booster of a week.

Monday

Holiday Monday! Victoria Day! Literally did nothing.

Tuesday

11km in the rain and wind. Almost had to call it off when I saw thunder and lightning in the afternoon. Got in 7 strides though! Several into the wind  (gusts to 50km/hr!) in my new value village rain jacket…which turns out doesn’t actually repel water, and because it’s a size too big it also acts like a sail when the wind picks up! Oh well, only a $15 mistake. Have I mentioned I think hate speed work?

Wednesday

Sens game….

Thursday

11km, potentially in the rain again. Had to do a Tempo run for lack of hills. Not wearing the sail! So I pulled out the old winter coat – well that got pretty hot when the sun came out 3km into the run LOL. Around 5km, my cell was really bouncing around in my pocket. 6km, way too hot, took off my neck warmer and held it in one hand, holding the cell in the other. By 7km I finally wrapped the neck warmer around my wrist and made a mock-cell-holder. (Problem solved – I don’t know how anyone runs with water bottles in hand.) It wasn’t until 2/3 through the run I finally got myself sorted out, by then my energy had been drained. Managed to squeeze out a good pace though, despite lack of concentration!

Friday

And another Sens game….won’t be any more of those though, sadly. They’re off to Florida to play golf for the summer (stupid Pens).

Saturday

33km aka my 20-miler! I’m volunteering at a water station for Ottawa Race Weekend on Sunday, so I figured I should get the long run out of the way instead of doing it after standing for 6 hours. I turned off the volume again on my runkeeper and just let my pace guide me, since I won’t have those updates on the marathon course. I definitely went out too hard but it was manageable. The second loop was a bit tough, the battle between good and bad aches was ongoing, but “good” aches kept winning and I kept pushing harder. My feet are tougher, except for the gravel that keeps getting me in the SAME PLACE on my foot!!! [I think some trail shoes are in order after this marathon.] Around the 30th km I started to wonder WHY. I was killing my legs, telling my body to quit bitching and just do it, and for what?! By the 32nd km I realized…it’s because I want to be “too tough to kill”.

dead

Sunday

11km of cruel and unusual punishment. The takeaway was, I am strong enough to complete the distance on tired legs if necessary. PRO of doing a short run the day after a long run: you really do take it easy, your body gives you no choice. CON: It hurts. It’s not really very enjoyable, however therapeutic a shakeout run may be. Call me old, but long runs are henceforth officially followed by a day of rest. Period.

Goal for Next Week:  Do my prescribed core exercises everyday, like the doctor ordered. I am STILL only doing it half as often as I should!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 27, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

