T-4 Weeks: Speed, By-Product of Form and Distance

More healthy food: check! Less wine….hahaha….ah well, one step at a time. I have noticed that I can maintain a faster pace now comfortably. ChiRunning teaches first FORM, then DISTANCE, then SPEED…and speed is appearing to be a natural by-product of the first two at this point in my training! I feel solid in this new and improved form, with the aches and pains pretty much gone (including my low back!). I’ve covered these distances now several times, and speed is really starting to come through, naturally. Kind of nice to turn off the pace updates, enjoy running the distance, and realize you crushed your old pace.

Monday

Spa day – epsom salt bath ahhhh….

Tuesday

6 Strides over 9.5km. Legs were a bit heavy after 30km on Sunday. Had to reach deep to get those strides out, and I did feel it in my Achilles afterwards. Nothing that lasted more than a day though, thankfully. Watched the game with an ice pack, that stuff is the best therapy in the world!

Wednesday

Cross trained with a 3km brisk walk with the hubby!

Thursday

Wow. This Tempo run was one of those runs that makes everything worthwhile. 11km used to be a goal – now it’s a regular evening. I wanted to get out there and find the upper comfort zone, maintain a challenging pace over the distance. Success!! The results were faster than expected, and I sure felt exhilarated throughout the run! Funny – achieved the same average pace as my speed session, with a much lower perceived effort level.

Friday

Another game night! Those #peskysens need to step it up!!

Saturday

9.5km, bright and early in the morning. This “easy” run that actually blew my mind. I turned off the sound on my runkeeper, and I challenged myself to really feel relaxed and easy with steady breathing the whole time. I came in 10 seconds slower per km than my Tempo session on Thursday. WHAT the WHAT?!? It appears that my easy pace has officially changed. My 10km race was only slightly faster last November, and I was beat up by the end of it.

Sunday

17.5km out and back on Rockdale. Decided focus on pace again, see how it feels doing a little less than half of the full marathon distance at my projected Marathon Pace. It’s an interesting give and take with form when you are pushing pace over distance. I really wanted to land lightly, as last week my feet felt great at the end, but there were times I could feel them slapping the pavement a little. I also wonder if I’m really maintaining my mid-foot strike and subsequent relaxation of my calves. I didn’t have any complaints with my recovery…so I guess my question has been answered!

Goal for Next Week: This will be the highest mileage week for me, and I know how much better I feel on my runs when I’m completely hydrated and well fed. So that is my goal. Drink 8 glasses of water, eat tons of veggies and fruits, keep up my iron and calcium supplements, and get plenty of sleep. Maybe kick the nightly wine habit too. Starting tomorrow.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 21, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

