T-5 Weeks: Passing the Plateau

Another week closer! Starting to get nervous/excited/anxious about the upcoming 42.2km…This week I finally felt back on my game, ran a couple of runs without even thinking about my aches, just concentrating on form. Only two weeks left of building up mileage, then it’s taper time! I’ve been hungrier too, finding ways to super-charge my meals with more healthy stuff. Best so far is putting eggs over easy on a bed of spinach on top of toast, with cherry tomatoes and an avocado on the side for breakfast!

Monday

Acupuncture appointment. That’s a whole other story/blog. Was (gratefully) reminded of the amount of blood needed to run that far and long, so I’ll be upping my iron intake. Managed to get an epsom salt bath in as well!

Tuesday

8km with 5 strides. Sunny warm night. Still fighting to keep my thighbone in line to prevent that knee pain, makes the speed work very challenging in a good way. I can’t seem to keep my cadence at 180-190 for speed as ChiRunning recommends…my feet just get going too fast! Something to work on.

Wednesday

ART appointment. He got in on my inner thighs….pain factor 10/10! UNCLE!! But I’ve got a good feeling about it…

Thursday

9.5km at tempo. Should have been hills but I wasn’t able to stay in the city. Found a really great pace though, didn’t walk this time. I have decided I don’t love the walking breaks on shorter runs. Watched the SENS WIN THEIR SERIES too, great night indeed!

Friday

Total rest day.

Saturday

I will possibly be involved in a ChiRunning study, and today we met and ran a gentle 4km warmup before doing video analysis of our gait. Met some incredible people with some amazing form! One man’s form was the closest thing to child-like I’ve seen! What an inspiration. He said he goes out for a run, loves the wind on his face, and feels every footstep on the ground. Got home and needed to finish up my miles for the day, so I went out with the intention to do 6km. The gravel is all new on one of my out and back routes (yowza) so I stretched the run to 8km and went around instead of doubling back. I tried to feel every footstep, and love the wind!

Sunday

Loving the wind is a bit trickier when it’s blowing 40km/hr from three directions….lol…..Did a full 30km, longest run yet! I invited God to run with me, and had goosebumps watching the world go by. I am so blessed, so lucky, so full of gratitude that I have this amazing pass time, that my body can carry me so far, and that we live in such a free, beautiful world where we can do this without fear. Fuelled every 40 minutes, did 2 loops so I could take a bathroom break, and managed to make it home without pain in my feet…but not before it started raining lol! Pace was about 30s/min faster, much prefer this 40 minute run/3 minute walk routine.

Goal next week: Maintain this new form, since my aches seem to be working themselves out. Keep playing, it’s working! I will eat more, healthy food, and try not to have that glass of wine every night. 🙂

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 13, 2013, in Running Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

