Getting EGO out of the way

Distance running is definitely my favourite running activity. Watching the miles drop away, the scenery (and weather!) changing throughout, and really enjoying the meditative, aerobic physicality of the long runs. Three years ago, running used to be nothing more than a way to catch a bus when I was late! But here I am, 6 weeks away from my first marathon after finishing my first half marathon half a year ago.

There has been a lot more…depth…in my first marathon training process than for the half. The distances magnify weaknesses, but also strengths. Counteracting the imbalance between the two is part of the process. The competitor in me expects to always do better than last time, but the yogi in me knows that every day you wake up with a new body, so sometimes you have to adjust your intentions. I’m enjoying watching these two personality traits collide and merge.

For the bulk of my half-marathon training I would try to do each run a few seconds faster, while adding a few km each week (LOL I know…*slaps wrist*). 8 weeks before the half I was sidelined with a minor ankle injury for a week. One silver lining (of several) was learning to differentiate my runs. Until I started doing upwards of 18 miles, I still hadn’t internalized this – my ego kept looking for that “better time”. Last Sunday I chided myself for being 10 minutes slower on my second 18-miler than my first…but my perceived effort was generally lower, I was taking steps to go the distance without any injury, and I recovered much faster. I am extremely proud – yet why is it still that the time I do it in is such an important factor in my overall appreciation of the experience?

That’s exactly what the race is for – to set my time record. It’s the process to the PR that I have to get my ego out of the way for. Have faith that the slower miles I’m running, the strides, the hills, the tempo runs, that time the wind knocked me off my feet, running in the snow, the good runs, and the bad runs will all contribute to the goal. And get ego out of the way of that too! A goal is there to give you a journey, the map is yours to create. Sometimes you can take a shortcut, sometimes you gotta stop for gas. (Sometimes your transmission just quits!) My ultimate goal is to be able to finish the marathon without injury, and recover as quickly as possible. Which makes my arbitrary time goal of 4:30 something to strive for, but not get attached to…

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 8, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

