T-6 Weeks: Form Evolution

More than ever I am learning that form is not static and must be allowed to evolve. Injuries used to draw panic and tears, but now I no longer worry when I feel another ache or pain. I go back to square one and consider my ChiRunning posture from the core radiating out, knowing that every adjustment I make will be improving my overall form. I refuse to have any “bad runs” now…they’re all lessons in form discipline, some more challenging than others.

RunQuote1

Monday

Extremely rewarding spa day – went for a massage! Took care of some serious leg tension. I forgot how much I love getting a massage…once every 6 months is NOT enough!

Tuesday

8km speed session. SO wobbly after the massage yesterday. Took about 2km and one stride to get anywhere near my comfort zone. The weather was WAY nicer than I thought, I probably should not have been wearing a tech fleece top and tights. I’m noticing my recovery time for breathing is quicker after my strides – woohoo! My inner thighs are still beat up and grouchy though…almost didn’t get to my fourth stride. I did it anyway, just a tad slower and with total concentration on form instead of speed.

Wednesday

Wine Wednesday. ‘Nuff said.

Thursday

Cut this tempo run short at 8km. Pace felt great, would have been sustainable…but that knee thing was feeling a bit dangerous! Getting to that starting line is my #1 priority…but what the HECK is going on down there? I will have to get back to beginner’s mind…Saturday’s easy run is going to be all about form, I must figure out what I’m doing to tweak my knee.

Friday

Recuperate with ice and a Sens game!

Saturday

Very conscious 9.5km out and back. My knee has been very iffy, and I was at a loss as to how to fix it…until the end of this run. Yes, I had very tight inner thighs, but my massage therapist worked that out…So stop favouring your inner thighs and USE them again! Lined up my knee with my femur, and my hip joint. Kept my knees down and my heels more up, and found a new&improved form that I would like internalize. Play! It’s all about playing.

Sunday

26km. I owned the walking breaks this time as per my goal last week: 30 seconds for every 10 minutes. I still needed a 3 minute walk to eat an energy bar around 1 hour, and another to adjust my straps on the camelbak, another to put my outer layer away and re-sunscreen, walk the uphills, and stretch out the knee that time I felt it twinge. The bottoms of my feet were still killing me at the end of it…and my time was 10 min slower than last time! The opposite of my goal from last week! I couldn’t get into my usual zen-like mode, so I think I’ll scrap the idea and just walk the uphills and the fuel breaks. Every 5km perhaps, since that’s usually the distance between water stations.

Goal Next Week: Get rid of any nagging aches and pains by solidifying this new and improved form I have found.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 6, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

