T-8 Weeks: Intensity – check! Differentiation…lost.

My goal this week was to increase my speed on the long run, and maintain intensity of training. In retrospect I did maintain intensity but I didn’t differentiate very much…I think I will have to assess my pacing and start getting realistic about how fast I’m running. Adding 5km to my long run and increasing my pace by 15 secs/min is a huge success – but my left foot has an issue today that I’m icing. Feels like a tendon, so I’m not going to panic, just RICE!

Monday

Rest day!

Tuesday

6.5km – Supposed to be 4 strides, but I did this run around the bridges to Gatineau so it became a combination of both strides and hills. Strides are still 15-30 seconds long, I should get a stopwatch and figure it out…starting to think a Garmin might be a good idea. Hot sunny day – I was very overdressed. Forecast said rain so I didn’t have anything but a tank and my jacket!

Wednesday

I had a time trial scheduled…still haven’t done one of those…

Thursday

8km, first time I ventured onto country roads that early in the morning. In retrospect, should have gone the other direction, since traffic was very heavy heading into the city. So much wind lately, 30km an hour feels a lot stronger when you’re running into it! Tempo run, still feel a bit rushed to get home when I have things to do afterwards.

Friday

Hung over 😦

Saturday

8km, winter again. SO MUCH WIND! I swear it was gusting to 60km/hr, I almost got picked up off my feet running into it! It’s hard to gauge effort leaning into the wind, until it stops blowing briefly and you practically fall forward. My breathing was 2-2, which usually signals I’m working too hard for “easy”…not sure why I kept pushing, probably just cuz I was angry at the wind! MUST decrease my easy run pace next week, might have set myself up for injury with a run like that…

Sunday

26km of awesome. I didn’t have a plan to walk except for the times I fuelled (2 bars and one gel). For the most part I felt strong and actually pretty fast, but I was at the mercy of my pains when it came to walking – I would prefer to be more in control of my walk breaks instead of just walking when I start to get creaky. Next long run I will try 10 minutes of running and 30 second walking, see if it curbs the aches and pains that come up in the last half. My average pace was 6:55. I would like to bring that down to 6:30 for the marathon (and I’m hoping a little race magic will help to do the trick!).

Goal for next week: Be in control of my walk breaks in order to avoid “having to walk”. Be more in control of my pacing – decide on pace before I step out the door and don’t go too fast!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Running Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

