T-10 Weeks: Sick and Busy

Well, Mexico was a great, relaxing indulgence. I probably did more damage than good during my vacation. I got an 11km run in on Sunday, which went pretty well, but wasn’t the amazingly perfect run I was hoping for after a week off. My goal for this week is to get back on the horse without any injuries or relapses so that my long runs can continue to progress as intended.

Monday

Sick as a dog! …What a terrible saying. Slept until noon, did nothing but blow my nose and drink water. Love my husband who brought me chicken noodle soup!

Tuesday

Assessed my lungs, and decided a little snot ain’t gonna hold me back from training. At this point. Got my 5km run in, and even did a bit of a fartlek. The snow is all melted and I can wear my favourite shoes all the time.

Wednesday

Rest day. Well, except for the 45 mins of core and back exercises I’ve been prescribed.

Thursday

6.5km tempo run, but I started out too fast. I had to stop off at home to blow my nose at the halfway point. My knee and inner thigh were seizing up, and I got a cramp that slowed me down for about 2km. I refused to stop and walk though – and discovered that if I lengthen my spine it helps get rid of the cramp. I felt I rushed through the whole run…hey I’ve got a LOT to do when I get back, shaving a minute off my best time was TOTALLY worth risking injury…#lessonlearned…

Friday

That cramp has left its mark! I actually have sore abs blowing my nose today!

Saturday

Beautiful sunny 8km, too bad I didn’t notice how healthy my body felt over the incessant cramping! Started about 4km in, and then it didn’t let up the whole way. I am going to blame it on the white bread and cheese (and wine) I’ve been eating for the past two meals. It was an interesting test in perseverance though – I don’t think anyone has ever died from a stitch in their side, so I pushed through. When I adjusted my breathing pattern I could get it under control for the most part. Still snotty – rushed out the door and forgot my tissues. Squeezing runs in on busy days can make it hard to relax…

Sunday

Now this 16km long run was great. No cramps (thankfully!) and the whole bod was feelin’ fine. I started out slower than I thought I should go, and at about the halfway mark I was feeling strong enough to start playing. Ankles got a bit stiff around 12km, so I walked it off for a minute, but for the most part could really feel a long spine and my “bungee cord” at the tail bone. Fuelling was every 6km or so and I was able to push my speed up to tempo for the last km. Remembered to bring kleenex too. 🙂

Goal for next week: Increase distance without increasing my speed. Must remain overuse-injury-free!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Running Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

