T-13 Weeks: Taking Action (sort of)

My inner thighs are very very tight! I really made sure to stretch them out after each run, and I think it’s helping a lot.

Monday

Extreme spa day. Bath salt soak, cold shower, legs up the wall, and wine!

Tuesday

6.5 km, and the sun was out for the whole thing! This was a scheduled speed session, so while taking it easy on my inner thighs and lengthening my spine I slowly pressed on the gas pedal. Got two and a half good fartleks in. Had to stop and massage out a bit of tension twice, probably because I didn’t take the time to heat up the muscle first (in favour of getting the run in before the sun goes down).

Wednesday

My first Active Release session with Dr. Cristoveneau.

Thursday

Great 5km Tempo run. It was cold and windy, and I didn’t really want to work out but I did an out and back that changed my attitude. I ran straight into the cold northwest wind on the way out, and forgot to run tall for most of it. Turning around, the wind at my back, I could take my face cover off, and did I ever feel great keeping goal pace and posture the whole way back.

Friday

Travelled to Winnipeg! The cold actually shocked me…I don’t remember it actually hurting as much as it did.

Saturday

Treadmill run with R at the gym. Nice steady, easy pace. We didn’t have enough time to do a full 8km so I settled for 5 at a little quicker pace. I haven’t been on a treadmill since about 2001, so this was a challenge to maintain Chi focuses. The “hills” are frustrating, I would much rather see a hill and conquer it! It was just far too cold to run outside, and between the two of us we didn’t have enough to do a run outside in the park.

Sunday

Well, my first missed long run. Hopefully my last. I didn’t plan to “break” my training until Mexico, but some things are unavoidable. Travelling puts a dent in the training schedule whether you plan it or not.

Goal for Week 12: Complete all three of my scheduled runs, no matter what. Even if it means I have to get up early, or stay up late. I have a very busy week but I refuse to let that take away from any more runs.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Running Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

