Week in Review: Feb 25th – March 3rd

So I was only able to get three out of four runs in this week. My legs were great at the beginning of the week but got heavier throughout the week. I could be pushing my pacing too hard. I’m certainly getting enough sleep…might be the beer and wine too! 😛

Monday:

Rest Day. No “spa” day this week.

Tuesday:

Speed Day – 6.5km. The roads had all melted and the weather was milder, so I could wear my summer New Balance Minimus Zeros. (I think they actually do make me faster!) I did three fartleks, two long and one short. Worked on the feeling of “pressing on the gas pedal” as you increase your lean from the ankles. Very pleased that I didn’t feel any strain in my ankle/shin splint area. A+!

Wednesday:

Snow day…meant to cross train with yoga but ended up shovelling snow! Arm work! Lesson: use lower abdominals much more…

Thursday:

Started a 6.5km tempo run…but it’s pretty hard to maintain any tempo when you’re dodging 3 inches of slush and dangerous icy puddles in the dark. After the worst snow dump of the year, this was officially the worst street-scraping of the year too, so I turned back. The guy fixing our snowblower chuckled with me – not worth the risk of injury.

Friday:

Snow was cleared from the streets and I decided to stray from my training plan. Instead of a rest day I did my 6.5km Tempo run – and managed to match my average pace from Tuesday. Gotta admit, though, perceived effort level was pretty high. Focus was on arm swing, and keeping shoulders down and my elbows back.

Saturday:

Skipped the easy run in favour of a rest day. Hoped to have fresh legs for the long run Sunday….

Sunday:

…but they still felt like lead. Started out into the wind so that for the longest stretch of road I might have the wind at my back. Initially ignored an achey muscle on the inside of the knee…tried to play with form, couldn’t find a sweet spot for this one, and it didn’t really go away. The mucky dirt roads were suctioning my shoes to the ground. Turned the corner at 13km and the wind was relentless. Ankles complaining for the last few km. This was one of those runs you just don’t love. Pace was probably too fast for LSD. Gave it a “C” but upgraded to a C+ at the end because my form held together a little better than last week’s long run.

I’m in repair mode today with a pulled knee muscle. I’ll do a core strength yoga class tonight, ice the knee, and hopefully be in top shape again for some hills with J tomorrow!

 

 

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on March 4, 2013, in Running Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

