Archer Pose Learning: Day 36

Archer Pose is an excellent pose to create balance and steadiness in the nervous system. It is very active, building power in the legs and navel, and strength in the deep core. It builds courage, confidence, and self-esteem. For the past 36 days I have done five minutes of Archer Pose on both sides. Five minutes is a long time to contemplate your thumb. I struggled first with arm strength, then leg strength, then found pelvic floor muscles, and deeper breathing. I let go of the tension in my jaw, felt the flow of energy from tail bone to crown, all the while trying to maintain a meditative mind. The chatter that comes up is incessant! I  have had some of my best ideas standing there poised to pull the arrow…of course I can never remember what most of those ideas are after my session is over!

I am incredibly happy with life, work, and myself – but I know I’m destined to give much more to the world than I am right now. Why do I work and play where I do? How did all of the events in my life bring me exactly where I am today, and for what purpose? I meditate, do yoga, and run, and read books to further my personal development, but wonder what my dharma is. I feel prosperous…but I also feel like I’m perched on the edge of my seat…what’s it all about, anyhow?

The archer who aims his arrow must sometimes wait minutes, maybe hours, before the prey can be taken down. Does the hunter even know what will come before his arrow…rabbit? Deer? Boar? The lesson Archer Pose is teaching me is that I must stay focused and alert, aim my arrow, be prepared, for when the opportunity arises I must strike without fear or question. Sharpen my arrow, maintain my focus, strengthen my resolve that my prey – my opportunity – is out there and I must be patient, while honing my skills. This way, the second it is within my grasp I will have the means to snatch it.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 11, 2013, in Yoga Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

