Morning Brew

I have replaced my rise and shine coffee in order to get the most out of my breakfast and vitamins. I started by drinking green teas, then decided I wanted to actually drop all the caffeine, and moved onto herbal teas. Slightly unsatisfied with my herbal tea selection, and looking for something I don’t get tired of, I tried hot lemon water with honey (that’s supposed to be good for you right?). Hmm…how about adding some freshly grated ginger? Then fresh orange juice too. Cinnamon? Sure! There’s an old apple in the fridge, let’s try that! My concoction had evolved into an elaborate fresh steeped brew, and now I’m addicted!

I have mentioned just one benefit of each of the ingredients below, but there are many many more! In a tea strainer place the following:

  • Juice of half a lemon (gently detoxifying)
  • Juice of half an orange (vitamin C)
  • 1/4 apple, peeled and sliced into small chunks (phloridzin to protect from Osteoporosis)
  • 2 tsp fresh grated ginger (anti-inflammatory)
  • 1 cinnamon stick, broken to fit your tea strainer (lowers LDL Cholesterol)
  • honey to taste (antibacterial, antifungal)

Fill your teapot with hot water by pouring over top of everything. Let it steep for about 5 minutes, give it a quick stir, and pour into your favorite mug! Eat the apples when you’re done – pop em in your shake, or toss em over oatmeal or cereal.

In an effort to be healthier I have decided to heed my nutritionist’s advice. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t totally weaned myself off coffee, but I’ve made an incredible dent in the weekday addiction. I still have the odd cup of coffee, but it’s on my terms now, not the coffee’s! My weekday morning routine has completely changed for the better. I have created space for at least 45 minutes to meditate, then I spend the time it takes for the water to boil to concoct my brew. I have MORE energy now, even though I’m up earlier. I guess there are a few contributing factors like more exercise and less alcohol too…

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on November 16, 2012, in Holistic Ideas, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

