How to Cure the Common Cold: An Experiment

I have spent the last few months committed to a significant increase in healthy habits; such as 4 litres of water a day, no coffee except on the odd weekend, and far, far, (far!) less alcohol. Unfortunately my recent bout of Halloween candy, beer binging, and coffee avec Bailey’s has curtailed my efforts. Add to that a 10km race and a disrupted watering schedule, this flower has wilted in the sub-zero temperatures of late.

The cliches about getting better when you’re sick are many, but how many of us admit to actually abiding by those innocent suggestions? Do we really think we are better off ignoring the obvious in favour of immediate gratification? (Duh, YES, I’m a better person with coffee!) Well, Tuesday I fell ill, and since I was already on a pretty good track before Halloween, I decided to test several of the typical adages:

Cut Out Caffeine and Alcohol

I did it, and I didn’t hate the world. In recent illness I have been known to continue drinking coffee. WHY on EARTH would I stop that when it’s the only thing that makes me feel normal? And don’t even get me started on my evening glass of wine, that’s the last thing that’s getting the boot after a long day of being sick. I can just drink this cold away, alcohol kills the cold bugs, amirite?

Drink Plenty of Fluids

Fresh ginger, orange, and lemon in hot water. David’s Tea: Alpine Punch. Soup. Fruit smoothies. And of course, water – through a straw to avoid the inevitable choking through the stuffy nose and scratchy throat. Chug water like it’s going out of style. Without the diuretic of caffeine, hopefully the majority of that water is useful!

Get Plenty of Rest

My ultimate dream came true, albeit with far more mucus than I envisaged – I was a housecat for a day. I slept in sunbeams, ate small meals, and curled up in interesting beds. I had a hot bath, did some deep breathing, and avoided daytime pseudo ephedrine cop-outs. I didn’t even turn on the TV or read a book as it would have been too much stimulation for my exhausted brain.

Sanitize Often

I treated myself to fresh pair of pyjamas and a clean sweatshirt three days in a row. I now realize I have under-appreciated the ability of fresh pjs to make you happy. I am going to buy more pyjamas.

Stay Positive

I “fight” my sickness from the get go, a battle immediately begins to rage. Luckily, this time, my recent meditation spree has me noticing when I’m not in tune with my inner joy. This illness raised a massive red flag to correct an extremely sour (and completely unnecessary) disposition. Why should a sore throat steal my happiness? I might not be able to go for a run, but I can enjoy the warmth of my lemon-ginger-honey tea on said throat. With some coaxing and reminding, that anxiety and frustration that ignited with the first echo of my sore throat was worn down, and I was able to have a “Benilyn Day” without the drugs.

This feels like Day 13, but I’m only on Day 4. My symptoms progressed unusually quickly. My faucet of a nose has already abated, and if I could inhale deeply without coughing, I’d have the energy to go for a run tonight. Getting sick is never convenient, but I now refuse to cut corners getting back to health. This has been too easy!

One more thing…Kleenex with Lotion and Aloe. That is all.

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Holistic Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

