Run-Love

I tend to write in my running journal when I’m down about an injury, or worried about (not) achieving a goal. Last night I had a fantastic run and midway I decided I needed to share why I love to, and need to, run!

Progress.

Tagging on that extra kilometre, or shaving off that extra minute, and doing it without anything but your own two legs. That awesome feeling when 5k feels like 3k, and 3k finally feels like just a stroll around the block. That moment when your pace, focus, posture, and breathing come together for a while after miles of trial and error. Those times you return feeling better than when you started, like you could do a second loop right away.

Me time. 

My favourite part of a long run is the time between when you forget what you were doing before you left home and you haven’t thought about the Epsom salt bath you’re going to treat yourself with after the run. The long stretch of empty country pavement, when it’s just me, my breath, my focus, and maybe some llamas watching me (slowly) pass them. This is my favourite way to be present.

The sunsets.

I think I’ve seen more beautiful skies in Ottawa because of my late-evening runs. The beams of sunlight streaming past the pink silver-lined clouds over the swaying fields of corn and soybean. The rising moon sparkling through the lone, massive tree in the empty lot against an indigo sky. And I get to see it from so many different angles as my route takes me around the neighbourhood. You can’t tell me this isn’t paradise!

Learning my limits, and going beyond. 

A goal is supposed to be big and scary so you can reach and exceed your limits. I didn’t expect to reach so many other, “smaller” limits on the way to the actual goal. I learn so much about my body and, more poignantly, my mind, with every limit I encounter, which is making the journey to the starting line an incredibly rich experience. It’s true what they say – the marathon (or half in my case!) is the victory lap for all the training and work you put in over the months before.

Too bad I can’t write while I’m running, there are so many great ideas that come to you while you’re alone on the open road!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on August 30, 2012, in Running Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

