Beginner Gardener!


So I have now amended my soil and prepared each section for my little vegetable garden. I really hope everything starts to grow! I can’t believe how easy the pumpkins and butternut squash are so far lol…I put the seeds in the ground last year before the snow and voila! Sprouts be popping up all over the place. It’s kinda magical actually, I have no idea if they really are pumpkins or butternut squash, we will have to wait and see what comes out!

To date, I have sown seeds for carrots, kale, watermelon, head lettuce and romaine lettuce, as well as snap peas and zucchini. I transplanted Asparagus and some Brussels Sprouts that I had grown in pots. I googled the image for what Brussels Sprouts should look like when you transplant them and they’re a helluva lot bigger in pictures than the ones I have in my pots – only had em there for about 6 weeks but I may have stunted their growth without enough light. The asparagus seems to have failed miserably…so I started some more seeds in the biggest pot I could find so I can just let them grow to their hearts content for the next year without any transplanting.

As for the soil itself, you learn something new everyday. I’ve read how important it is to let the soil rest but I’ve only recently learned that leaving compost on the top of the soil gives the buggies and worms some time to pull the compost into the soil below. I also probably should have been paying more attention to the type of soil each of my plants are going in, I really just said “hey, I composted, if it doesn’t work then so be it!”. I’m trying the clear plastic over the tomato plot thing to kill off any weeds and to warm up the soil.

At least it appears that I have rotated my crop compared to last year nicely. I do wonder about the 6’x6′ crop of marigolds the previous owner had planted in the corner of the garden…I’m going to say she was probably keeping some kind of pest at bay so you can bet I’ll be planting marigolds around the garden again. Next year I have many many many plans….hahaha….seedlings with special lighting, soil testing, an ELECTRIC rototiller!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey Fibi,
    It looks awesome! Just a note about the pumpkins, they can grow out of control quickly. Not sure how to trim them, you can find that online I’m sure but they offer a very good hiding space for critters, they flock to the pumpkin patch. Pumpkins are an amazing harvest though, just keep it in the back of your mind. We grew them at work. 🙂

    E

    • Excellent advice, thank you!! They’re already looking a bit crazy! I found some yellow and black bugs mating on the leaves yesterday…I’m sure they’re cucumber beetles, and I swear it was almost an orgy (which I obviously ruined!). I hope I got a good chunk…I would hate to see the pumpkins and cucumbers ravaged by their offspring later in the summer too…

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

