Setting Healthy Goals

I have never thought a lot about goals, because “I want to live in the moment”, and not “worry about the future”. I used to think, hey, the future is coming no matter what, and I should enjoy every day. Maybe the meaning of life is living in the moment. But I’m finding it’s easier to love living in the moment when you have a clear journey – even if you change the destination once in a while.

Lately, I’ve been setting goals on a daily basis. I have a little sparkly notebook in which I write 10 goals everyday. Usually the same few goals, sometimes a new one creeps in, and an old outdated one fades away. But for the most part my core goals get rewritten. Funny things happen when you write your goals down everyday. You start to think of things that will help you achieve them – sometimes spontaneously while doing dancer’s pose in hot yoga, or halfway through a sandwich 🙂 . I have since redefined a few of those core goals, and added intermittent goals as well.

The most obvious example for me recently is this: Initially I wrote that I run to work three times a week. I “eat vegetables everyday” and I “take three classes a week” and I “read a chapter of a book every night”. Those are all fine goals. But they’re not efficient. There’s a lot of management that goes along with worrying about all of those goals on a daily basis. It came to me that I can combine those goals into one simple, measurable goal. A “S.M.A.R.T.” goal if you may (S-pecific M-easurable A-ctionable R-easonable T-imely). I now write “I do three things a day for my health” – which I have the freedom to pick from a list of things I deem healthy.

Here’s my list:

– Eating a full plate of vegetables (or a large salad)
– Drinking a frozen berries, kale, and avacado shake
– Going for a run
– Taking a yoga class
– Meditating for 11 minutes
– Reading a chapter from a personal development book
– Flossing
– Getting a massage

I created a calendar in which I put three lines on each day, and taped it to the wall. Everyday I will fill out the three things I do to make myself more physically, mentally, and spiritually healthy. It has taken a lot of pressure off – I don’t feel obligated to go for a run to be “healthy”! If I’m having an off day physically, I will read a book, meditate, and floss!! (Actually….I bet this will make me floss a heck of a lot more than I currently do!!)

Just thought I would share….would love to hear your comments on this. Try writing your goals down for 40 days, I would love to hear your experiences!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on September 2, 2010, in Holistic Ideas, Lulu-Inspired Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow Fibi!
    That is truly S.M.A.R.T!
    I’m not kidding. What I nice way to simplify it and make it work.
    I’m in! I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

