Clear Intentions Part 2

I’ve been living a lot of life by the law of attraction lately…and it’s working. Since I began my new job, I’ve been very clear with what I want to happen to me. I have written a list of goals for myself with deadlines, and already I’m feeling like I can rewrite the deadlines sooner. And I’m not afraid to admit that a goal needs to change – I think writing your goals down is the first step to finding out if they’re indeed the goals that you want to achieve. I’m constantly thinking about what I am doing to achieve my goals. I’m not living in the future though, I like to think I’m still being present as much as possible. I’m still taking time to meditate everyday, get to a yoga class, to appreciate my loved ones, and enjoy some amazing food made with a little extra love. I think great food, pets, and laughter will always keep you in the moment!

I walk to work in the morning, feeling the sun (or the rain!) beating down on me, thinking to myself how great today is. Not just thinking, but feeling it. And the amount of great the day actually is, is directly proportional to the amount of energy I put into thinking how great the day is. Still in its preliminary testing stage, and so far seemingly true.

I have written down my main financial goal on a piece of paper which I keep with me. It inspires me to think twice before buying those shoes or getting that extra cookie…but the more I think about and see my goal the more I am inspired to do it, and I have already achieved 10% of that (seemingly huge and scary) goal.

One of my intentions is still to only be working Mon-Fri 9-5. I have been given a whole week of shifts that are daytime shifts! Well, this week I speak of has a Saturday in it…but at least it’s a morning shift!

I am challenging myself at work to behave like the management I want to be – even though I’m still a newbie. I have taken steps (sometimes quite intimidating ones!) to push myself – goals, books, behaviors, feedback, coaching….and I will have a success story to share with you in a month’s time. Guaranteed.

I always thought I was a pretty optimistic and happy person. I was very lucky…I would wait for great opportunities to come along, and grab the chances when I could. I now know that’s only half the battle! I am no longer dreaming about great things in my life – I am setting specific, clear intentions and goals. As William Moulton Marston – psycologist, inventor, and the creator of Wonder Woman, said – “Realize what you want – it stops you from chasing butterflies and puts you to work digging gold!”

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on May 18, 2010, in Holistic Ideas, Lulu-Inspired Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. love it!!! keep it up!

    grabbing things that may come along can keep one interest and content, but true happiness will come from working hard to get exactly what you dream of having 🙂

  2. Fantastic!
    Funny, I too have been focusing on having great days by stating that “I’m having a great day!” before it’s even begun. Creating the feeling seems to make it possible to carry it through the day.
    Even when things don’t go right, when having a great day is at the front of my mind, the solutions seem clear and obvious, or at least I find it easy to believe that they are.
    Great post! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Very good, daughter dear! I’ve lived life in a positve mind set believing in the power of thought. Place our goals and positve thoughts into the subconsious. It has a fantastic way of finding how to deliver on them. Be careful. It can also deliver on negativity manifested in poor health and lifestyle. Looking foward to getting together soon. Love you!

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

