Clear Intentions

Yoga teachers, at least in my experience, tend to ask at the beginning of class “if you would like to set an intention, do it now”. Usually I manufacture an intention, like to focus on my breath, or to keep my mind clear, or even just to dedicate my practice to someone who I think needs a little extra energy in their lives. Today as soon as I heard those words, the word PEACE just came to me, so I made my intention to find peace, presumably within my asanas. As usual, I forgot what my intention was, and halfway through class was like “oh yeah!” and then proceeded to, once again, forget what that intention was. 🙂

On the walk home, amidst an inch of slush and cold water, I was admiring the snow falling, and how I didn’t feel the need to walk fast or get anywhere…and I realized that my intention for class had actually carried over to the rest of my day. We all know that yoga creates a calmer, clearer state of mind in general and I usually have a lovely walk home…but I rarely experience my intention so directly. I relished the peaceful walk home, grateful for the cool wind on my hot yoga cheeks.

Intention spans throughout all areas of life, not just a yoga day. When I was looking for work, I had a very strong intention to work at a certain place. I would have done anything to work there! And lo and behold, I am cleaning the showers and toilets in said place. Don’t get me wrong, I love working there! If I have to clean, I could not be in a better place to do it. But here’s the kicker. I decided that for my next job I would set a higher “standard” for my intention (thanks to a wonderful friend’s advice – you know who you are!)…I said to myself that with my experience and adaptability, along with my discipline and motivation, I should be the one in charge. Now I have been blessed with a position of collaborative and managerial opportunity at a place that is only going to become grander, busier, and will encompass all the things I personally want to promote in life.

Be clear with your intentions…I had too many out there in the universe and I am sure I confused things! Yes there are many things I want to do in my life (Yoga teacher, Holistic Nutrition, Doula, and now investigating becoming an Ayurvedic Counselor….). I may not know which ones I am supposed to go for first – perhaps that’s a sign that I should be taking time to meditate, clear my mind, and allow the signs and signals to come to me. I think it’s important to make things happen, but it’s also important to know when to step back and enjoy the show! Then one day, you have a lovely conversation after a yoga class, and everything falls into place…..

A wise line from the book The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho – “When you want something all the universe conspires to help you acheive it.”

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on February 24, 2010, in Holistic Ideas, Yoga Journal. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. And maybe you had already been here before. Maybe it was all so good that you came back for more. We are all but mere energy and once we realize this everything seems more beautiful in it’s natural state. The colour is enhanced somehow, and we settle into the chaos. Your writing is beautiful and reminds me of the simple things in life. I am happy to hear you had such a lovely walk home and are in constant use of your third eye.

  2. Have you read a book called “The Mastery of Love” ? I highly reccomend it : )

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

