The Present Moment is a Gift

I think I am really beginning to begin to understand the meaning of being in the present moment. šŸ™‚ One of the most important lessons yoga has taught me about meditation so far is that meditation is not all about emptiness and “clearing your mind”…thoughts will come and go…it’s about non-judgement of those thoughts, and letting them float around without getting attached to them. Staying present.

I was lying is Savasana today and I felt my mind begin to wander. I am far beyond caring if my mind wanders…I think I have learned not to judge my thoughts (for the most part) and to allow them to enter, and then float away again like clouds. However, this time, as my mind wandered and I realized I was not in the moment anymore…I was truly excited to get back! I didn’t want to miss a second of what my mind and body was experiencing right here and now, and I calmly brought myself back into the meditation of savasana. It felt truly blissful just lying there peacefully. Savasana – corpse pose – is about surrendering. To the circle of life, to the present moment, to being human, and to being of the universe too. This was a particularly well-surrendered savasana, if I do say so myself.

Sometimes the present moment is not blissful at all, it can be quite unreal or even painful. I try to embody the moment so that I can see what the moment truly is – and instead of reacting out of fear of the unknown, or fear of feeling or causing pain, I can respond to the situation with a clear head. Dragging baggage (ie guilt and fear) into a new situation (however similar it is to a past experience) is not going to do anything but confuse the matter at hand. The more we practice not getting attached to those old judging thoughts in a peaceful place, the easier it gets to do the same in a more stressful situation.

Today I think I made a transition from acceptance of my racing mind to a new place of presence and peace that I am going to explore. I don’t want to miss out on any part of real life being too busy thinking and rethinking things I don’t need in this moment!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on January 20, 2010, in Yoga Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Fit MommaBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Reach Your Peak

Ignite Your Passion For Health & Fitness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

The Failsafe Diet Explained

An introduction to the failsafe diet, with diet charts

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

oenophilogical

one man's journey

Runner Unleashed

The Scoliosis runner, beating Fibromyalgia and brain disease one mile at a time.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

