Weeks 33-35: A House With Running Shoes

The third trimester is by far my favorite. There are so many fantastic movements going on in my belly! I play with the little feet and knees that poke out every so often, and stroke the little hard area that I think is the back. I don’t even mind the three point flip in the night, which usually coincides with a pee break – it helps when you have a great mattress and a sweet stack of pillows. I still have morning sickness (!!) but most days it’s manageable. Eating helps a lot. So do ice cream sandwiches and nibs.

The best part is, I’m still running! The past three weeks I’ve been able to get a 2-3 mile run in almost every other day. Interestingly enough, I feel even more inspired to run because of the physical challenges this house-like belly has created – thank the Lord for my ChiRunning focuses! The bigger I get the more motivated I am to get out there on the good days. Running actually helps keep the swelling to a minimum, and bonus – I don’t feel nauseated when I’m on the road. I am getting slower and slower, but on good days I can still run the whole way. On not-as-good days I’ll do intervals of walking and running. I have found people in the neighborhood have been supportive if they do say anything, which is good news for what I hope is the new accepted norm!

Today is not that day

I definitely respect the “growth spurt” days, however. When I feel like an overfilled water balloon, the exhaustion hits, and my hormones get out of control I take the day off – usually end up napping on the couch right after dinner to ease the swelling, or waddling around complaining about how far away I have to stand from the sink to do the dishes. For the  most part my hips have held up. I do find now that my left side is finicky and on the verge of a jam, but as long as I’m very aware of my posture while I run, I get away with it. I am pretty sure the stiffness in my hips that I feel now is going to stick with me through to the end, whether I run or walk or sit on my butt all day. May as well get out there!

Now I hear things get even more interesting when the baby drops…someone said it’s like a coconut between your legs. My motto: cross that bridge when you come to it!

About Fjola Melody

Yogi, DJ, runner, cat lover, coffee drinker! Oh ya and the occasional beer. Life is good!

Posted on July 3, 2014, in Pregnancy, Running Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I also stroke my baby’s back and push against her feet and knees–love it! The third tri is awesome–almost there!

  2. OMG, YOU ARE PREGNANT!!!!!!!!!!! ❤ We are so happy for you guys!!
    xoxoxoxxoxoxoxxoxoxox x a million Erin, Matt, Cali and Muffin (a cat not a fetus)

Leave a comment

My Running Blog

A rambling journey towards healthy, active living.

Dr Rachel Reed

evidence-based birth information

Nicole M. VandeBoom

Mommahood Mindfulness

The Pregnant Athlete

Learning To Embrace My Changing Pregnant Body While Swimming, Biking, Running & Practicing Yoga

See Syl Run

"Success is never wondering what if" - Karrie Huffman

Sans Deferens

it's vasectomy time. follow every little snippet as I gingerly hobble through the process.

Yoga Music

Kirtan, Mantra and Meditation

The Undaunted Kitchen

Let your foodie flag fly.

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Striding Towards Life

A journey means moving forward - we pick the direction.

super generic girl

the awesomely average life of a girl like all others

Courage To Run

Serenity, Courage, Wisdom